We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely to walk”

Fort Anne National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site brings to life that part of Canada's past when conflict between Europe's empire-builders took place on the shore of the Annapolis River.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely to walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fort Anne may be small, but it is unusual and the grounds are very, very well kept. Unfortunately it isn't open on Fridays and Saturdays, but luckily we could extend our stay until Sunday so we could view it. The tapestry is truly amazing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiefer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    124
    31
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greely
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Interesting history over some hard fought real estate...it is amazing scenery as you walk the grounds and read the display boards... The quilt that you see in the Fort itself is worth the price of admission; which is a small fee for learning about our roots...I love old cemeteries and this place has some very old sites .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MedicmanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Preservation of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a wonderfully preserved piece of Canadian History.
The grounds are beautiful and lots of information as you self guide around the "fort".
The main barracks have some exhibits and the new needle point panel/tapestry depicting the history of the fort is fascinating. So much detail and work.
The $4.00 entry fee is ridiculous.
A bargain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Neat as a pin, so well-maintained, excellent staff on site and a great history lesson re French and British settlement and interactions with Mi'gmaw (sp? - sorry)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cotteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! Don't miss part of our Canadian history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

History preserved! Huge, lots to walk around. Need a nice sunny day to fully appreciate the view. Don't miss part of our Canadian history. Night cemetery ghost tour was also very nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Anne National Historic Site also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fort Anne National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing