We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Inn I have ever been in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King George Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Annapolis Royal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Inn I have ever been in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at this Inn a few during the summer and it was a horrible experience.
1) The rooms were musty. The Inn Keeper told us we had to keep the window of our room closed and the Air Conditioner on at all times.
2) She set a curfew - we had to be back by 10:00 p.m. so as not to disturb her (even though we had keys and we are two non drinking, quiet people who just wanted a walk at night).
3) She swore profusely and kept calling her old customers 'F$#! idiots' which was completely inappropriate.
4) She made us re-park our car every time the car in front of us left as she had to have them in a line.
5) She had rules for how we had to eat breakfast, as she wanted to 'educate' us on victorian manners.

Avoid this place at all cost. I stay at B&Bs a lot and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had by miles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anee1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
75
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived extremely late in the evening, but Faith was there to greet us at the door. And in a way that sums up our experience at King George: Faith was so friendly and inviting the whole time we were in Annapolis Royal.

Finding out that it was our honeymoon, Faith upgraded us to the honeymoon suite... I believe it was the Victoria room and it was wonderful! We enjoyed a lovely veranda, king sized bed and wondrous bathroom. Not to mention a wedding present of chocolate (gone in a flash) a mug and a stained glass candle holder with a dragonfly (a symbol of good luck and prosperity).

We realized quickly that we needed to spend an extra day in Annapolis and Faith delivered! She had another room available and had it ready for us to move in to by 10:30am! She gave us a deal on this room too, which was so nice.

Faith also had lots of brochures and suggestions of places to see and when to go. Annapolis is a great town!

Lastly, Faith personally serves all of her guests breakfast. She teaches etiquette and proper procedures of eating Victorian style.

We recommend King George to anyone planning to visit Annapolis Royal or the surrounding area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDPeereboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

First I will say the Innkeeper seemed like a lovely person, very warm. The Inn is a place I would not wish to stay in and the reason I feel people avoid B&B's. We booked a few rooms and checked in , paid and left without sleeping.The Inn has no on site parking, that is something I could live with but like on site better. The rooms were cluttered and messy in appearance with too much stuff and one had an unpleasant smell. The bathrooms are very small the size of closets in the two rooms we viewed. We decide to leave and go else where, now I paid the Inn Keeper and explained it was not what we expected and left. If you don't mind small rooms and bathrooms and lots of clutter, than its the place for you.. just not me.. other than that the Innkeeper seemed a very pleasant person...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank valcharlescook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed in Annapolis Royal many times, but this was the first time for my man. We'd been driving for fourteen hours; when Faith noticed my walking stick, she immediately moved us to a first floor room. This exemplifies how she runs the King George--kindness,attention to detail, and the kind of hospitality that I cherish Nova Scotia for. The room was beautiful--gorgeous antiques, homey, and the bathroom! I started my day in the Jacuzzi tub (for which my arthritis was deeply grateful). Breakfast the next morning was delicious, filling, healthy, and elegant--the Victorian theme carried through to the settings--without being stuffy. Other guests joined us around the big table--one couple were repeat visitors--and the community feel, even though we were strangers, speaks to Faith's hospitality. We will come again.

Room Tip: If you have a smoker, ask for the first floor room--there is an attached porch where the smoker can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMadameRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

From the first time I contacted Faith at the King George Inn, until we checked out, she was extremely helpful and accommodating. We are a family of 5 so we wanted to book the Family Suite. Faith was able to rearrange guests to get us the suite. As far as my research showed, this is the only inn in the area that doesn't charge for two separate rooms, but offers the affordable suite of two rooms, two baths, that was plenty of comfortable space for us. Upon arrival, Faith gave us the tour of the inn, complete with many rules. She is in charge and her rules guarantee a stay that respects the furnishings and Victorian traditions of the house. She is an interesting woman, who patrons should take the time to get to know. She will arrange dinner reservations and answer any questions you have about the area.
The house is beautiful and chock full of antiques. The highlight of the house is the amazing front door, a survivor of the Halifax explosion from the Lieutenant Governor's house.
Breakfast was delicious - pancakes, fruit preserves, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. Faith gave the children a lesson on Victorian table etiquette. It was a valuable experience for them, one we hope they will continue at future meals!
We look forward to returning someday. Thank you Faith!

Room Tip: Book the "family suite" if you have 2 or 3 children. Get to know Faith, the Inn keeper, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0m23b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stayed at a few bed & breakfast inns and I can tell you this....this one is by far the worst we ever stayed in....Faith, the innkeeper, was on patrol! She chastised, made rules. We took her many times as being a rude person and from the moment we walked in the door it was a explanation of her rules and regulations....and what idiots some of her other guests had been....which was none of our business and should have been kept confidential.
We stayed 3 days 4 nights....the breakfast was the same every day....pancakes!!! of course, you got the usual muffins, juice, granola cereal, coffee, tea and homemade jam...but, I can get that as a continental breakfast at most motels/hotels. In fact, the 3rd morning we got cold pancakes!
The room we initially wanted she gave to someone else but, she did "upgrade" us to a better room....although the bathroom was so small that my husband ( a big man) could hardly move in the shower. We were afraid to touch anything....being afraid we would get reprimanded.
as far as the inn itself it was very clean, decorated well, and is a great location to wonderful Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia.....but I can tell you this....I will be staying at the Queen Ann's the next time. It was only a $30 dollar difference and I heard their breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my first stay at the King George and hopefully not my last. What an awesome part of Nova Scotia steeped in history and beauty. The Inn was warm and inviting and the rooms cosy and homey. And Faith, truly a gem that I will never forget. Come with a sense of humor and you will enjoy every minute of your stay. My friends and I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful Victoria Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 548 Upper St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing