We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Strudel!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
German Bakery & Garden Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Apple Strudel!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Apple Strudel they serve is just delicious. Especially warmed and with ice-cream. The downside is that it is a bit expensive,

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brownie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    45
    15
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Food, quality bakery goods.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I just spent 3 days in the area and ate 5 meals here. As a British tourist i can say this is authentic comfort european home cooking of a high quality.The potato salad is excellent and the warm sourkraut is a treat (all 5 times!) . I had the sausage several times and the stew both as a main course and a starter as a soup. Sit outside and have a water view or inside in the restaurant. I always had a pastry to finish and one for the morning! Apparently they were 10 years in the Historic Gardens but had to move so they are settling down with their systems in this better location. This is good honest food. I didnt think it was too expensive and the quality was 100%. OK they have a lot of garden chairs but as they moved from the GARDENS thats to be expected i suggest... eh? Its not 5 star world decor but 4 start brand new. Other local restaurants are fine and should be looked at but i found this one and was very impressed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pastries, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We kept coming back to this place for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea because of its pastries, coffee and authentic german style.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Volkera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Enough”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Decor with plastic garden chairs left a bit to be desired. No complaints about the food it was simple but good. Trouble with computer which held us up for quite a while when we were leaving.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExploreKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pastries”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Pleasant indoor cafe or outdoor picnic table dining. Closest dining to Historic Gardens and Fort Anne local attractions. Free parallel car parking on either side of street outside bakery on way into small town of Annapolis Royale. German & Canadian farfare. Moderately prices. Their fresh German pastry are a local treat!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripster002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bakery & Garden Cafe also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to German Bakery & Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing