We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect small plates”
Review of Front and Central - CLOSED

Front and Central
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect small plates”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a large lunch and chose this restaurant because we were told that they had wonderful small plates. The small plates were perfect. Two of us had the slow roasted cauliflower salad. The combination of cauliflower with pine nuts, aioli, and very small croutons. One guest had scallops with a cranberry sauce and flash fried parsnip chips…a great combination. Finally, the vichyssoise was incredibly smooth. I'm curious to know how the chef was able to keep the potato from being gritty. We topped it off with a shared lemon ice cream with a pistachio bed and a dusting of cayenne. Great meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your time spent at my restaurant. The secret to my vichyssoise; I use a 70-30 mix of potato-celeriac in base recipe. I find it really helps smooth out the soup and adds richness without using allot of cream.
Thanks again,

-Chef Dave Smart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, but....”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I so wanted to give a really good review of this place! I'm hoping I will the next time I visit. My first impression was that it lacked a little warmth... maybe some fresh flowers on the tables might help warm the place up. The water glasses were really spotty! I didn't really feel like drinking a glass of water poured into a spotted glass. The server was nice, but didn't really try to get to know us at all. He should have asked questions like where are you from, what brought you to our restaurant? something anything would have been nice. My biggest upset was the condition of the menu!! It was filthy! Stained and wrinkled. Not a great way to make a first impression. I actually took a picture of the menu, but out of respect...I won't post it. The food was very good! Hats off to the Chef!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredie657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time for sharing your thoughts. We have a strict policy on polishing glasses, cutlery, and stem wear as well as the publication of fresh crisp menus at Front & Central. I appreciate you letting me know that some may have slipped through the cracks. I will personally look into the matter.

-Chef Dave Smart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty food. ”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Like the smoked tomato soup and lobster thing. But the chicken breast tastes a bit strange for me and my girlfriend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aven X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food but disappointing portion size and ambience”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I ate here with my family at the end of my visit to the area. We arrived around 8pm and there was ony 1 other table present. After working out the slightly confusing menu of 'small and large plates' I made my choice of two small plates and a side. The service was good but there was just no atmosphere. I almost felt uncomfortable, especially when the other table left and it was just us on our own. Our first course arrived and I had a delicious seafood chowder made with sweet potato instead of traditional white potato. The food was full if flavour, however the portion size made it seem more like a jus to put on a piece of meat then a bowl of soup. Next my scallops came which were tasty but again the portion was minuscule. I enjoyed the food I ate but left feeling hungry and a little disappointed at having paid so much for what I received.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplynufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I appreciate your thoughts and hope you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Annapolis Valley. The ‘small plates’ menu has been designed such that 3 to 4 plates would be equivalent to a traditional appetizer-main course. We chose this format as a way to increase the enjoyment of the dining experience, allowing the dinner to experience more flavors, textures, combinations, etc. More recently we have added a large plate option for more traditional dining experience. We do truly value the feedback we receive on TripAdvisor; thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Five stars all the way. Just one thing to add to all the other superlatives you've read here: instead of the usual starter/entree combo, we opted for a selection of their small dishes (starters and sides), almost as if it was a tapas bar. So yummy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LightYear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at Front & Central.
Come back and visit us anytime!

Thanks,
Chef Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front and Central also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing