We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perplexed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front and Central - CLOSED

Front and Central
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perplexed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We appear to be the only reviewer that finds it difficult to submit a glowing recommendation. My wife and I were there for dinner this last September and although the smaller portion concept was explained to us by a lovely young lady serving us we still suspect there is a method to their madness!. I can fully appreciate that the sampling of various dishes in the course of dinner adds to the fine dining principle but the size of the dishes are quite small yet priced as if they were of 'normal' size. A Scallop appetizer complete with two smallish scallops @$14.00 plus a 3 ozs. steak or fish portion @ $16.00 was frankly not worth the cost. If you could visit this restaurant and consume 3 portions each for less than $90.00 lot you would be satisfied but you cannot. Tack on taxes, wine and gratuity you will be spending around $130.00. To much for Wolfville, N.S.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oshawaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

We wish that you had shared your concerns with us while you were in the restaurant, so we could address the matter at hand.

We truly value the feedback we receive on TripAdvisor.

Thanks,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Michelin star quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had been recommended the restaurant but at first had trouble locating it as it is in a side street off the main road. Look out for the flag! What a find! The decor was simple but elegant and the restaurant quietly relaxed. The portions are starter size, the idea being that you can try a few things. On the whole one dish is a starter or desert and two dishes equivalent to a main course. Prices were reasonable and two dishes cost much the same as we had paid elsewhere for a main course. The food was quite remarkable, interesting and tasty combinations of flavours, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were attentive and friendly. It was certainly the best meal we had eaten in 3 weeks touring the area and equally as good as any michelin star restaurant we have tried in the UK. We did make the mistake of ordering the dairy free pannacotta which would no doubt have been great if we had been on a dairy free diet but for ourselves really needed a good dollop of cream!! We agree with JShy12 the scallops were the best we have ever tasted. We left the restaurant wishing we were staying longer in Wolfville and could go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pickyg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking your valuable time and sharing your thoughts with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time!

We take pride in the food we produce from locally sourced items and we're ecstatic that you enjoyed what we presented to you.

We would love to have you back again!

Thank you
Chef Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little taste of food heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at F&C on five different occasions. Every visit has been a slightly different and exciting experience. I've eaten at many world renowned restaurants, but few of them have the careful attention to detail or challenge the status quo like Dave Smart and his team do. Recently my favorites are the fried buttermilk chicken with blue cheese and pickeled celery, the duck breast with turnip and granola, and the sour cream ice cream with lemon infused olive oil and blueberry balsamic. I can't wait to see what's next. Oh, I also recommend trying their cocktails- they have some homemade infusions that are epic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us.

You even made me blush a little!

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious! Delicious! Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is probably the best meal we had during our 10 day trip through Nova Scotia. The food was amazing! The scallops were the absolute best that we have ever had. The server was very helpful and friendly. We read the reviews, and our server recommended three plates each. We got to try a lot of dishes, but were very full by the end of it! (which is a good thing!). The food was very well prepared, and you could tell a lot of time and effort was put in to each and every plate. We would recommend anyone staying in Wolfville to try it out, you will not be disappointed! Great food, great staff, great experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JShy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us online!

It is an amazing feeling when someone recognizes the effort put forth from my team and I.

We would love to have you back the next time your in Wolfville!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at Front and Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very good food but one needs to order an appetizer, entre and dessert - otherwise the portions are very small and one could leave a bit hungry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontandCentral, Owner at Front and Central, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review....you are correct, with our 'small plates' format we recommend that you order three courses plus dessert for a full meal.

It was one of the significant format changes we made earlier this year when we re-branded the restaurant as a way to provide a different dining experience.

While you can still come in and order 1 dish as an appetizer and double up on another as a main course, we felt that the 'small plates' format would give the diner an opportunity to try out several of the dishes on our constantly evolving menu to take advantage of the amazing produce we have here in the valley....and respond our creative whim in the kitchen.

So glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you back again soon

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front and Central also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing