We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations and great hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tattingstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tattingstone Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great accommodations and great hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

First ignore any comments prior to July 2009 when “Heather and Thomas” became the “new owners”. We stayed at the Inn for thirteen (yes 13) days at the end of May this year (2010) and had a great time. Breakfast was always good any and effort was made, due to the length of our stay, to make sure we got a variety. The rooms were large enough, even though we were told we had the smallest, also clean and comfortable. And short walk to town if that is important. Both Heather and Thomas have a wealth of knowledge about the Wolfville area and are able and willing to give valuable advice on restaurants, activities, hiking, horseback riding etc. We are not normally B & B people but we will definitely return and we recommend the Tattingstone with out any reservation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itisakeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    49
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
145
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cap-Pele, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed for one week in November at the Tattingstone Inn and enjoyed the comfort of this family-run bed and breakfast. The hosts were gracious and helpful, the room was well-appointed and immaculate, and the breakfasts were delicious. Many extras included, such as the homemade cookies and tea served in the evening. We highly recommend this Victorian inn as the best place to stay in Wolfville.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Tattingstone and found it to be a lovely, warm and comfortable place to be. Our hosts Thomas and Heather could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They have just taken over recently and are sure to make a success of this lovely old inn.
We stayed in the carriage house in room 9, which was good for us, as there were no stairs to deal with. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice too. As we had a senior in our party, the bathtub was an issue. Difficult to get in and out of. The breakfasts in the beautiful sun room were delicious and the service was excellent. We all felt as though we were visiting with friends. I would definitely recommend this lovely B&B to anyone who wants a quiet and comfortable place to spend some time in the town of Wolfville.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

The new owners were really warm and welcoming, and our room was spacious, bright, and clean. We stayed in the carriage house in room no. 9, and found we got a good night's sleep in the comfy bed. The street noise quieted down at 9:00 pm so we kept our windows open. We had a spa tub, quite large, that soothed after a day exploring this interesting region full of wineries, history, views, and of course - the Bay of Fundy. The pool was a lovely bonus! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and bright, quiet and uncluttered and the breakfast with homemade raspberry jam was divine. The hosts are gracious, pleasant and helpful. Earlier this week we stayed at the Victoria Inn, in a dark, dingy and cluttered room and had to put up with bad service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here July 19-20th and had a very enjoyable stay. The new owners of the Inn had taken over a few days earlier and gave us a very warm welcome. Their enthusiasm for their new venture bodes well as Tattingstone Inn has very "good bones". Our room (#3) was roomy and light with superior furnishings with a spacious and well appointed bathroom. The dining room was attractively arranged, light and airy with a deck for eating outdoors. We would definitely return if in the area again and certainly recommend it.
"From the other coast"

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WestCoasterVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at the Tattingstone for 3 nights recently. The town of Wolfville is very charming and a good spot from which to take day-trips around the northern Bay of Fundy area.

The inn itself is getting a bit shabby both inside and out--common areas seem sparsely furnished and dim, and the carpet throughout is old, overly Victorian, and could use replacing. Our room (#1), however, was spacious and nice enough, with a small but adequate bathroom. We had beautiful light (corner room, so light from 2 sides which was nice). The inn is very quiet. Plenty of towels were provided and replaced daily.

If our room is any example, the photographs on the website adequately depict the rooms themselves.

Service at breakfast was very friendly and attentive. Three options are offered daily (the same 3 options each day). The food was fine, if not excellent.

We paid CA$148/night for our room, and it was the least expensive place we stayed on our tour of Nova Scotia and PEI. I thought it seemed appropriate for what we got. The room was perfectly nice, if not luxurious, and was kept immaculately clean. Sheets and pillows on the bed were a bit cheap, though we found this to be the case in 3 of the 4 places we stayed on our trip.

Overall I would recommend the Tattingstone if you are not looking for serious luxury.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfville
1.7 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
5.1 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#4 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
1.6 mi away
In Wolfville Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tattingstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattingstone Inn

Property: Tattingstone Inn
Address: 620 Main St, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tattingstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance in an Historic Setting. Located on Main Street in picturesque Wolfville, Nova Scotia, the Inn is a short distance from Acadia University and downtown area restaurants, shops and galleries. Featuring 13 rooms with private ensuite bathrooms on an acre and a half of manicured grounds to enjoy . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tattingstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tattingstone Inn Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing