We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could have been perfect...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stella Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stella Rose B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It could have been perfect...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our hosts were very warm and welcoming and we were served large breakfasts for our 2 day stay. This house is close to the university and downtown shops. If my husband and I had been travelling alone this would have been a perfect stay but we had our adult daughter with us and needed an extra bed. Our suite had a good size bedroom with a very comfortable mattress and a sitting room with a pull out sofa, t.v and bar fridge.Unfortunately, the noisy bar fridge was right next to the sofa bed which made for a loud night for our daughter. There was a large and really beautiful bathroom in between our bedroom and the sitting room. One wall of the bathroom was inset with an opaque window right next to the toilet and shower - very awkward when someone is staying in the sitting room! When we mentioned this to the owners they nailed up a sheet over the window right away and said they would get a blind for that window in the future

Room Tip: We looked at the other rooms after guests had checked out - they were both beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islingtongardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
--glad you enjoyed your stay- except for your daughters encounter with our "noisy" bar fridge-I wish that you would have brought that to our attention--we would have simply unplugged it. please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
256
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Actually, this would be the place to stay anywhere. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate. The beds are very comfortable. There was a wine cooler in our room for your purchases on the wine tours just outside of town. Later in the evening enjoy your purchases on the large deck or in the hot tub. It is a short walk into town which is very convenient.
However, the best part was the fabulous breakfast. We had a lovely fruit cup with yogurt and tiny pieces of candied ginger, eggs Benedict with a butter free hollandaise that was wonderful. I have to find that recipe! The bread was a sour dough rye that was from a local bakery. I could have eaten all day. The owners are very friendly and will help you plan for a delightful time in Wolfville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensorydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer, as well as our breakfast that we enjoy preparing--it makes it all worthwhile-thanks again- it was our pleasure.
The only thing we regret is that you didn't have better biking weather.
Hopefully you will plan another trip to Nova Scotia , soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I spent three days at this fantastic bed and breakfast accommodation while accompanying our daughter who entered Acadia University during September. After cancellation of one of the rooms Dan and Arlene made us the offer which we accepted with some reservations. Honestly, it is one of the best, if not the best and breakfast accommodations my wife and I have ever experienced. Great host, excellent location, fantastic food and quality rooms. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for accommodation in the Wolfvile area.

One again thanks Dan and Arlene who both made our stay one that was truly wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your views of your stay with us.
We are pleased that you found our accommodations restful after your long trip from Barbados.
It was our pleasure having you stay with us & we look forward to your return next August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I can't say enough about the positive experience I had staying at The Stella Rose. The service was excellent, the accomodation was great, and the food was superb! I will definitely be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschnei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind remarks, we really appreciate it, and it was our pleasure having you stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Stella Rose for a full week and it was pure pleasure.
Could not wished for anything more. A real nice light room, the bed very comfy and the breakfast something to look forward to every single morning. Freshly done whenever we decided to show up with high quality fresh ingredients every single time.
What else can I say - it was just great!
all the best to Arlene and Dan with warmest regards from Hong Kong

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Brenda , thank you for choosing The Stella Rose, it was a complete pleasure having you stay with us. We certainly enjoyed the visit and hope that your future plans include another trip to Wolfville -- ( maybe at graduation time if not sooner ! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent a wonderful night at the Stella Rosa. We arrived after a long drive and headed for the hot tub with a bottle of wine. We spent some time on the deck with Arlene and when the rain came we hopped in the hot tub it was sooooo nice. Our room was clean, comfortable, very relaxing and the decor was lovely. Dan and Arlene were very helpful and attentive and did an awsome job bring all of us guest together for nice conversation and sharing.
Breakfast exceded our expectation and was over the top for a B&B. We would definetly go back to the Stella Rosa.

Room Tip: We had what was probably the smallest room and it was wonderful. It is on the front of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us -we enjoyed the visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay as well--we appreciate your comments. Hopefully you will find your way, our way, again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arlene and Dan do a wonderful job of running this 3-room B&B, which is up-to-date, clean, and comfortable. They are very congenial, are eager to share information about Wolfville, local attractions, and restaurants, and are warm and welcoming. Breakfast is great, with several courses such as scrambled eggs with salmon or poached pears. They went out of their way to help with whatever needs we had. At breakfast, everyone joins in the conversation, which is a nice way to meet fellow travelers. The Stella Rose (named after Arlene's and Dan's mothers) is quite unlike staying in a hotel where you are anonymous.

Room Tip: Since the B&B faces Main Street, the best room is #3, in which the bedroom area is in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Owner at The Stella Rose B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the fine review.
We are pleased that you felt like " family" as it is our intention to make everyone feel at home at The Stella Rose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfville
1.8 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
5.2 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
In Wolfville Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stella Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stella Rose B&B

Property: The Stella Rose B&B
Address: 611 Main St, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1G1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Well appointed, tastefully decorated, (Q) rooms, including 1 suite with adjacent sitting room,with provision for a third guest, 1 with Jetted tub & shower and covered private balcony and 1 with elegant four poster bed. All rooms have new or upgraded en-suite bathrooms with heated ceramic floors, flat screen TVs, mini fridges and comfy sofas or recliners, individual heating and air conditioning controls.Wireless internet throughout. Smoking permitted in designated areas on decks. Only a 5 minute walk to Acadia University, and a further 5 minutes to downtown shops and many fine restaurants. Wolfville is located in the heart of Nova Scotia's up and coming wine industry, with over half a dozen vineyards within a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stella Rose B&B Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing