We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian Style Inn situated in large park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blomidon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blomidon Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Victorian Style Inn situated in large park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Blomidon Inn is situated just outside the shopping street but on walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I got a cold and cough and they served me complimentary om my room a pot of tea with fresh honey and lemon. The room was very cosy, old fashioned (carpet and wallpaper) and they do not have numbers but names.It had its charm with a seperate part with large flatscreen TV, office table and couch. The large king size bed was fantastic. there was another TV in the bedroom. It was very clean, but not too lage. The bathroom had a bath with Jacuzzi. The breakfast was delicious with fresh brownies, home made bread and jam, lots of fresh fruit, joghurt and juices, however no eggs, meat or cheese. the serve breakfast from 0600 am. Internet connection was ok. I was there in October and the trees were changing colors, it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Medium sized rooms with charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    60
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
142
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Blomidon Inn is exactly what one might wish for in a Victorian-style inn, with a sweet, cosy front room, charming front lawn, and atmosphere of old-fashioned comfort. Staying there proved a welcome rest on a journey that went far too quickly. The breakfast was delicious and the staff accommodating and pleasant. In a town filled with inns and bed-and-breakfasts, this is doubtless one of the best, not far from the centre of town but set in a quiet enough place that the sense of being removed from the rush of modernity is strong and refreshing.

A warning, however -- for those accustomed to wearing rather casual clothing while on the road, you may wish to pack something a little more sharp to stay here. I wore my worst clothes and as a consequence felt quite out of place in the elegant rooms. However, no one commented on it -- they are far too polite -- and it may have only been my own sense of aesthetic rightness.

Room Tip: It is difficult to find rooms for more than two, but there is one, I believe it is the Windsor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came to town for the Deep Roots folk festival and stayed for one night at the Blomidon Inn. Small but very cozy room with plus bed and bedding. The bathroom was average (tiny) but relatively clean. Decor was dated but can also fit with the historic charm. Carpets and hallways a little dark and dirty feeling but again, it has it's charms. Building and grounds are sure to please if you're looking for old world European delights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulfislandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here Oct 27, 2012. High cost ($175.00) for lack of services. Room was extremely hot as air conditioner didn't work well. Small bugs appeared in the morning all over the ceiling. TV went down about 11pm which on-site staff couldn't fix so we had to wait for the owner to come. Finally the Breakfast sucked and only pub food could be found in the nearby town and on-site menu was very limited. The good thing was the placed was uniquely old and historically pretty plus had a lovely view of the Cape. The room was pretty but very uncomfortable bed. Staff was pleasant but lacked knowledge.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the top floor & check room to see if air conditioner works before signi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Right after Thanksgiving I drove to N.S. As always, the highlight of my trip was my stay at The Blomidon. Michael and his Staff make a person feel so welcomed . I stayed in a room at the very top of the inn.I'm sure it was originally a servant's room. The furnishings are just right for a small room for one. I slept better on the comfortable bed than I have in weeks. The new flat screen T.V. is a nice addition. The wonderful dinners served are beyond compare ! I enjoyed the breakfasts too. The Blomidon Blend of the Just Us coffee tops meals off so nicely.
Bottom line , I will return to the Blomidon and recommend it to anyone visiting Wolfville ,especially in the Fall when the colours on the trees on the grounds are breathtaking !

Room Tip: Always take the opportunity to look at a room before staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I guess it's a matter of taste and expectation. I don't equate "quaint" with "grandma's house in North Syndney run amuk" but others must because this place continues to be described as "quaint". I found it to be a little over the top in the faded elegance department.

Our room was long overdue for a rehab - in a tiny room was a fireplace, 2 oversized arm chairs, a massive 4 poster bed, a desk and chair, a dresser and a couple of side tables. There was also the ugliest, noisiest air conditioning unit that took up valuable real estate on the floor it shared with 3 worn out and desperately ugly polypropylene area rugs leftover from the 1980's chintz craze. The wallpaper was peeling at the edges; the curtains were long past their best before date; the lighting was poor; the bathroom was tiny and had more competing styles in the fixtures than I could count. It was not a feast for the eyes - the whole cramped and claustrophobic mess made the room uncomfortable which was then aggravated by the ancient, thin and lumpy mattress on the queen bed.

Apparently there are rooms that have been renovated - our fellow travellers' room had a much better mattress, the wall paper was gone and the furniture pared back. I wish we'd known to ask for an updated room.

The gramma-ish decor spills over into other parts of the hotel. What the heck was that cheap, dollar store witch in the lobby supposed to accomplish? Her broken nose exposing styrofoam beneath summarizes our experience at the Blomidon Inn - decor wise, it is trying way too hard with too little.

The breakfast on offer was boring with no variation over our 3 day visit and lacked any offer of protein to help get you through the day. The hyper cheerful and loud voiced server could tone it down a little at 8 am and pay a little more attention to keeping the coffee cups full of the delicious Just-Us local coffee. The male servers could learn to use an iron - if you're going to make them wear white shirts and bowties at breakfast, then insist the shirts be presentable!

We ate one meal in the dining room at night - it was lovely with impeccable service and presentation. Amy was a delight - just the right touch of personable service without being intrusive. Our meals were delicious - the "sliver" of desserts on offer a perfect idea that should be replicated across the land.

Overall, the inn met our needs - it's a beautiful building and we're so happy it was salvaged from its previous history as a student apartment building but that rehab must be 30 years old now and it shows. Let the renovations continue!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed one night at the Blomidon Inn in Wolfville. The exterior of the inn is the most beautiful I've seen in Nova Scotia. The gardens are magical as well. The interior is roomy and decorated in Victorian style, lots of velvets and carved wood furniture that was surprisingly comfortable to sit on. Our room was on the second floor, tastefully furnished, but our one complaint was the pillows were less than plump. The food was out of this world. We had dinner at the inn in the small dining room (more intimate which we preferred) and the each course served was perfection.

Room Tip: Dine in, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osullyofnewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfville
2.8 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.2 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
In Wolfville Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blomidon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blomidon Inn

Property: Blomidon Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blomidon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Blomidon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blomidon Hotel Wolfville
Blomidon Inn Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing