We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of bugs, Pool needs repair , poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolfville
pei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of bugs, Pool needs repair , poor service”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Just got back from the Old Orchard Inn however this review is mainly directed towards the cabins. As all Cabins have some bugs, these cabins tend to have a bit more then others. after arriving, we discovered an huge pile of dead ants laying on the bed as if somebody had placed a tray of dead bugs there from last year and when we reported this..there were no apologies and we had to directly ask for another cabin that may have been recently cleaned. They did give us another cabin but instead of dead ants...we were busy, stomping and squashing ants all night long...the cabins are basic with just beds , phone , t.v and bathroom...nothing extra..no kitchenette, fridge or bbq...we didnt want to complain again as we didn't want to be a pain. We did leave the cabin to check out the pool but only to find what seemed to be a big ol spider at the bottom of it along with ALOT of broken tiles and debris floating around the bottom....it seemed a bit odd that they would have this as it advertises itself as a spa..but this explained the absence of swimmers. There was no pleasantries or anything when we checked out...just bye...I guess they were scared to ask how we enjoyed our stay as they knew what they had given us.
We did venture onto main st of this picturesque town which has a lovely market but i would not recommend eating at pronto's pizza as we witnessed the cook sneeze and blow and NOT wash his hands not to mention the place is really really dirty and run down....needless to say....if we were to HAVE to return, we would not stay at this hotel but might give one of those beautiful historic Inns a try instead.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peimya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    89
    63
    52
    29
See reviews for
102
96
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We held our wedding at the Old Orchard Inn and can't say enough about the great service and special touches. The entire wedding was perfect - we gave the staff instructions and there was not a single mistake - everything was as we had hoped...and better! Our room was great, as were the rooms of our guests. Everything was clean and well serviced. It was convenient to have a hair salon and spa located right inside the Inn. The meal was great and the rolls were AWESOME! We would highly recommend this location for your wedding or special event.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newlyweds2009ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

This property is in a nice location in a beautiful part of the world. However, the property is showing it's age. The room decor is terribly dated, and in need of an upgrade. Our dining experiences were limited breakfast, and were satisfactory.

The thing that annoyed me the most was the poor attitude of some employees. The hospitality industry is based on a service model. This model must be reviewed by the Old Orchard Inn employees. In dealings with some front desk staff, there was an "air" about them...an attitude. Also, we walked by the administration desk several times with our family and never once were we acknowledged, though looked in the eye....I don't need to be worshiped....just a simple "hi" maybe, but I guess that was too much to ask.

In this industry, your customers are gold, and each employee is an ambassador. My experience is that this is not the pervailing attitude at the Old Orchard Inn, except a young, always happy front desk staffer who would have jumped through hoops for guests.

Will very much consider staying elsewhere next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolfville hotels

Brampton ON
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We spent 11 nights at the Old Orchard Inn. This is a place that we will definitely return to. The room was clean, furnishied beautifully and very inviting ; plus, the view from our room was gorgeous. My husband was able to keep connected to his business by the inroom wireless internet. The Spa also provided a great reprieve for our aching muscles. The name of this hotel obviously comes from the apple orchard on the property. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. The dining room was lined with windows that looked out to the Bay of Fundy. Eating in there was so restful; not to mention the excellent food and service. We also noticed that this hotel made provisions for all occasions - weddings, conventions, group meetings, etc. We would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBramptonON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just returned from a five-day tour of Nova Scotia...traveling by the "CAT" Ferry from Bar Harbor, Maine.... Followed by a four night, counter clockwise, personal car tour along the "Lighthouse" and "Evangeline" trails... Returning by the "CAT" to Portland Maine.

The tour was a "CAT" package tour, with four nights lodging...

Our research of the accomodations, especially AAA's non ratings, left us aprehensive about the Old Orchard... WRONG!!... The Old Orchard INN is understated and underrated... Just off CA 101 and situated on a hillside overlooking over the Bay...
We enjoyed a very quiet drink on the open Sundeck before an excellent dinner in the connecting, well windowed Dining Room...
Our room was medium spacious, immaculate, and overlooked the same Bay beyond the old Apple Orchard on which the Inn is situated...
Prices were about equal to other similar accomodations, but the Old Orchard Inn won our "First Place" Award for the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RentCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Where do I begin? We booked a room in order to attend our son's swim meet at Acadia University. Figuring it was just a single night, we tried The Old Orchand Inn. So here's a synopsis for you:

1. The room smelled like a wet basement.

2. The children's channels and video game option did not work and despite asking the front desk to fix this, they simply stated that "it should work." They did absolutely nothing to sort this out.

3. The restaurant, which tries to sell itself as a fine dining establishment by charging $25 and up meals was disgusting. Never mind the worn tables and chairs, I paid $30 for a steak and it was burnt crisp as was the baked potato.

I complained to the front desk upon checking out and they simply said that no one had ever complained about the food before. Really? I find that hard to believe. And to add insult to injury, she offered access to the breakfast buffet.

So, do yourself a favour and visit a bed and breakfast...and do your homework. This hotel was nothing short of terrible.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything. The restaurant was a sham.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hosselmadani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Very good location - right off the main regional highway (101) and clean bright rooms. Staff were excellent and the views of the valley a real bonus (request a Valley View room) when compared to the parking lot view. Pricesare quite high because the Old Orchard sees itself as a resort (there is a spa and pool on site) so you will find more reasonable rates at other Valley properties. The dining room food was merely average, and again, pricey, Service throughout the Inn was above average and they do make an effort to keep the customers satisfied.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfville
3.4 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
109 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
154 reviews
2.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#4 of 10 in Wolfville
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Orchard Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Orchard Inn & Spa

Property: Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Address: 153 Greenwich Rd S | Exit 11 Highway 101, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 2R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Orchard Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Property centrally located in the Beautiful Annapolis Valley surrounded by Orchards, Tides and Wineries. 100 well-appointed A/C rooms and FREE internet (mixture of Kings, Queens and Doubles with 2 barrier-free) and 29 seasonal cabins. Spectacular views. Dining room, lounge. indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, sundeck, tennis; scenic walks. Full service Spa; business services; reception & conference facilities. Bay of Fundy Recommended Experience. 5 km to shopping, golf and major attractions like Grand Pre National Historic Park and Hall's Harbour fishing Village and world's highest tides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Orchard Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Orchard Hotel Wolfville
Old Orchard Inn And Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing