We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Shutters Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is more like a Guest House than an inn. This is a modern house, not a quaint, older place. But once we got past that, we enjoyed our 2 nights here immensely. The landscaping is beautiful. The house is a very short walk to the main street. There are only 3 bedrooms but they are large and very comfortable. Both breakfasts were delicious. Daryl was very helpful in giving us suggestions for restaurants. He mapped out our day for us to be sure we saw the best of Wolfville, which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laminva71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Blue Shutters for one night but we would have loved to stay much longer! Darryl and Diana have thought of everything. Our room & bathroom was beautiful, large, bright and comfy. The breakfast choice was second to none. We picnic'd on the guest deck...in the guest kitchen were plates,cutlery, drinks for sale, use of the fridge/freezer and tea/coffee facilities. We took the short walk into Wolfville which is a really pleasant town. In the morning we shared the breakfast table with other travellers which only added to the wonderful homely atmosphere of Blue Shutters. We cannot recommend this wonderful B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the course of a tour round Nova Scotia. We would very happily have stayed for much longer. I can only endorse the other comments on tripadvisor. The room was spacious with large bathroom; the bed comfortable, the breakfast cooked to order and ample. There was a fridge with cold drinks for sale, a guest deck at the back and quite a lot of wild life in the trees around.
Darryl and Diane are perfect hosts and the house is well positioned to walk round the town - which has a lot of restaurants to choose from.
The only negative comment I can think of - and this is not a criticism of the B&B itself - is that the last couple of dozen metres are a steep climb when walking back from a night out

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mart1et42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can't add to what others have said in praise of this great B&B. Darryl and Diane run a place that simply has no flaws. Stay here. Walk anywhere in Wolfville. Enjoy a good night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast and some good conversation with other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I began and ended my trip to the Maritimes at the Blue Shutters. Of all the B&B's I stayed at in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and PEI, the Blue Shutters was my favourite, by far. Daryl and Diane have done everything right. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and contain everything you need for comfort and convenience. They are also spotless. I don't think I've ever been in such a clean house!! The breakfast options are amazing, and I loved chatting with Daryl and Diane while I ate each morning. They are lovely people, and live up to the friendly, welcoming reputation that Maritimers are famous for.

I will likely visit Wolfville many times over the coming years, as my son studies at Acadia, and I will definitely stay at The Blue Shutters every time. There's no point in looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: The Peach Room has a private deck, looking onto the garden, and is a really nice size. Lots of hot w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This B&B just adds to the reasons why I adore Wolfville. Situated very close to the town center, Blue Shutters is a relaxing home away from home. The owners are friendly and welcoming and pay exquisite attention to detail. The rooms are beautiful complete with en-suite bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The breakfast - well, you have to see it for yourself! The choices are endless and I wanted to stay a few more days so I could try the Ginger Pancakes (next time)! I would highly recommend this B&B for your next stay in Wolfville!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

B & Bs are our favorite places to stay during our travels. Not only are we supporting local economies, we find the service and 'homey' atmosphere in B & Bs hard to beat. And the Blue Shutters is no exception. We stayed there for two nights recently during the Deep Roots festival and found the Shutters a very conveniently located and restful 'home away from home'. We had the smallest of the three rooms and found it quite adequate for our needs. We also enjoyed the lovely living room where I could access the free WeFi. We are, however, already booked into one of the larger suites for next year's festival. I really liked how quite the area was and we both marveled over the choices on the breakfast menu. Most B & Bs offer one election, but Daryl and Diane offered several choices, all excellent. Great accommodations! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Study the very good pictures on line to get the room that meets your space and amenities requirement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brianie370z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolfville hotels
0.9 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#3 of 10 in Wolfville
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Blomidon Terr, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range: $60 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home located in the Annapolis Valley's picturesque and historic town of Wolfville, home of Acadia University, Kings County, the Land of Orchards and Tides and Vines.* An Ultra Quiet location on a No Exit Street only 300m from Main Street.* Only a 15 minute walk to downtown or Acadia University campus.* Gardens surround the house for a quiet place to walk and relax.* Near a number of walking trails through town and on the dykes.* Ideally situated to experience the various aspects of the Bay of Fundy Tides.* Near the Grand Pre National Historic Site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Bed And Breakfast Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing