We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bithday supper”

Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Gift Shop.Best Small Restaurant in Nova Scotia Award from RANS 2013, Best Restaurant Chef Inspired Casual Dining by Taste of NS 2011, Best Restaurant outside of HRM by Chronical Herald. Follow the fabulous aromas down our quaint little lane in the historic district of Shelburne, Nova Scotia, step inside our heritage building and enjoy the warm hospitality and fine dining. Our restaurant offers innovative dishes and fine wines presented with attentive service in a cheerful setting. Since opening in 1995 we have attracted loyal and appreciative clients from near and far, and we invite you to join this happy circle.
Chester Basin, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bithday supper”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Need a reservation here as this place does not have a lot of seating, but that's what makes this place special. Nice and cosy with great service and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonMader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    30
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Wonderful Service”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you are going to be in or around Shelburne, NS definitely make a RESERVATION and for for a meal at this restaurant. As soon as we walked in the door and were seated, the service was fabulous. Fresh, fantastic ingredients and a great wine list, made for some great combinations.
The gift shop up from is also very nice, if you are looking for something to take home with you. We really enjoyed our dining experience and will go back the next time we are nearby!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Glad it was there”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Shelburne itself is a little out of the way ( unless you are passing by anyway ) but it is so worth the effort to get there ---especially if you are a history buff like me. The town is much like what old New England towns looked like before population pressure ruined them. Much of the town in fact is as old as these New England towns, but still retains its un-commercialized authenticity. But for that good point there is a not so good counter balance. In this case, because of the small population and seasonal nature of the town, there is really only one good place to eat ---The Charlotte Lane. It is casual fine dining and not inexpensive. But it is reasonably well carried off. The place is charming and both service and food are certainly competent. Our meals were good, but better food is to be had in other places on the south shore for less cost. That said it is certainly recommended that one stay a night in Shelburne to soak up the history and the charm of the town. And the evening topper should be a reservation ( recommended) to the Charlotte Lane. Everything else is a fair step down.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I came here on a sunny Saturday afternoon for lunch with my husband after a brewery tour at Boxing Rock and was more than pleased! There was a short wait, less than five mins, and excellent service with servers regularly checking on us to make sure we had what we needed. Between us we shared the mussels, he had eggs benny and I had the combo tomato cucumber sandwich with chipotle creme cheese along with the chowder which was more like a cup than a bowl for sizing. The chowder was to die for! Some of the best I've had yet. The benny was unbelievably tasty, and my sandwich was really good too although I'll probably try the montreal smoked meat next time since it sounded appetizing. Everything was incredible, we were VERY pleased and will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Theyreallyhave the market cornered as there are one too many places to eat in this small place. That said the food was very good. Only criticism was the plates were overflowing which lacked style and we asked for our vegetables on the side which meant the dish was presented in a more balanced way. Also we were served a cut piece of bread too big , better sliced inti three . Having said this they are only minor points as service and food were very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RAHkim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts also viewed

Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing