We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dining experience”

Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Gift Shop.Best Small Restaurant in Nova Scotia Award from RANS 2013, Best Restaurant Chef Inspired Casual Dining by Taste of NS 2011, Best Restaurant outside of HRM by Chronical Herald. Follow the fabulous aromas down our quaint little lane in the historic district of Shelburne, Nova Scotia, step inside our heritage building and enjoy the warm hospitality and fine dining. Our restaurant offers innovative dishes and fine wines presented with attentive service in a cheerful setting. Since opening in 1995 we have attracted loyal and appreciative clients from near and far, and we invite you to join this happy circle.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate here a few weeks ago and were part of a large group of 8. The Service was excellent and the staff very pleasant . I was impressed with the fresh vegatables which come from the garden everyday. I enjoyed the best halibut steak dinner.
Would definitely return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JewelsNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    30
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Shelburne County”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The beaches in Shelburne County were not the only thing that refreshed and tantalized us last week.This restaurant and wonderful gift shop has a gourmet mouthwatering menu -the food is elegantly prepared and all 7 of us were delighted with our choices.I would drive back just for the lamb rack!
If you are anywhere on the South Shore make the effort to treat yourself- The colourful decor, the food,the music,the attentive staff, the gift shop of local artisans and quality merchandise will make this a highlight of your trip to Nova Scotia.KUdos to Charlotte Lane Cafe!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieScot_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply the best !”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I visited this little gem on Tuesday, August 12, 2013. The service was prompt and friendly. The menu was filled with fresh local Nova Scotia produce, from wines to seafood. The scallops were amazing, and the steak was perfect. The portions were surprisingly large, and the prices were reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingsolomons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Casual fine dining”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Reservations are recommended but we dropped in on a busy Friday evening just in case we could get a table and we did. The dining room is small and there are three tables out on a back deck which is very pleasant. It is the type of place that I would usually only go for "an occasion"- more expensive than the places where I usually eat out. And some of the ingredients are a bit exotic for my tastes- I recommend looking over the menu before you go. However, the garlic scallop linguine was amazing. Never had spicy tomato sauce with scallops but it worked. The Mexican chocolate pie was ok but not exciting. The service was friendly, attentive and professional. It was a treat and well worth it. And we did not feel out of place dressed casually in what is clearly more "fine" dining than "casual.' Limited parking and not easy to find but do make the effort if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubley, Ns
Level Contributor
232 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife had tried to eat hear a couple of years ago but they were all booked up. Managed to squeeze in for lunch here this trip. They have both a gluten free and a lactose free menu. The salads were amazing, and the service was super fast!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts also viewed

Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lockeport, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing