We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get what was advertized”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Hallowell, Maine, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't get what was advertized”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We rented a deluxe room for our 25 anniversary. Our one BIG night. A private deck on a heated pool was advertised as well as DVD player and whirlpool. It had the whirlpool, but not the heated pool or the DVD player. When I tried to put in a movie at 11PM, I realized the 'DVD player' was actually a cable box. The office was closed at that time.
The town of Shelburne had nothing to offer. A trip to the Loyalist Pub for a drink ended by being told there was no pub. A mixed drink was not available at the only other bar open. They only offered shots. At checkout, I mentioned all of the above and got an 'oh well' attitude. I advised they should change their webpage to reflect current offerings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
70
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mackenzie's. We stayed for one week in a one bedroom cottage...very comfortable, clean and affordable. We used this as a base and travelled along the South Shore to see the wonderful beaches and towns. A free good variety continental breakfast is provided each morning. The owners were most hospitable and their staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay here if ever we are down this way again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moores_228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Another motel was full and gave me Mackenzies number. Everything was as was explanined on the phone. I found everyone very friendly and helpful, a very clean and comfortable room with a coffee maker supplied with coffee and tea. After a restful nights sleep I found the free breakfast tasty and would stay there on my next trip to Shelburne. I have been neglectful on writing this review since I was there in 2008 but feel they should have a positive word for providing a comfortable stay for me.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed for four days at the motel, it was wonderful. It was peaceful, close to great places to eat. Everyone was so nice. This is the place to stay in Shelburne

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Knewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Wow, my wife and I stayed in Cottage 14, incredibly well kept, everything in it from a plasma TV to an electric fireplace, BBQ, breakfast was great and bountiful and Mary our hostess was so pleasant we didn’t want to leave

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Coming from Chicago, I'm used to paying outrageous room rates. But everything's a little different in Canada. Like billboards on the highway do not exist in NS! If you don't get off the main highway and take the Lighthouse Route, you'll miss out on some of the most spectacular scenery on the planet.

MacKenzies is kinda' like that too. Off the beaten trail, but easy to find, a bunch clean cozy cottages and a couple of beautiful suites in the main building. Nice clean pool, free wi-fi and Cable. We stayed in their upstairs suite with a complete kitchen, giant bath with jacuzzi, king bed and beautiful, homey appointments. Such accomodations would cost at least $300/nite in the States, but cheap by comparison. And cheaper still on the American Dollar.

Some charming stuff to do in the area, maritime museums, walk to restaurants, and by all means GO to Peggy's Cove!

Wish we coulda' stayed longer, but the Cat Ferry only runs certain days back to Portland, and we couldn't change our reservation.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank avpro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Passage
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Friendly staff, Clean rooms, Quiet nights. Wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectgadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
48 reviews
24.8 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
14.5 mi away
Whispering Waves Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Property: Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Address: 260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie's has been family-owned for decades and offers the best of Nova Scotia's intimate cottages, affordable motel and luxury suites in a park-like, brook-side setting in a great location in the centre of town... something for every taste and budget! Free breakfast and wireless internet is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Hotel Shelburne
Mackenzie's Motel And Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing