We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Hubley, Ns
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Shelburne for one night this weekend. Had the David George cottage. It was exceptionally clean, and had all the furnishings of home, for a reasonable price. The staff were all quite friendly.

The continental breakfast had all of the usual stuff (bread, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, fruit and juice. Breakfast is served in a bright room overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Cottages are separate and with the air conditioner one, we could hear no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrajim, Front Office Manager at Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
we offer 3 one bedroom cottages here at Mackenzies which offer a great weekend getaway,inside a beautiful fireplace, kitchen, bed and 4 piece bath. Our breakfast room is a lovely place to start the day! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    45
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
68
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We has a great stay at Mckenzie cottages! The cottage was really cute and very clean! The cottage also had air conditioning and it was a very hot weekend so it was so comfortable sleeping there. We would stay here again anytime!!
The women at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and friendly to us. We also enjoyed a swim in the pool which was very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrajim, Front Office Manager at Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
all our rooms are air conditioned in season, which hopefully provides a comfortable stay and sleep. Our staff is up to date on the best places to eat and any festivities going on in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had booked this motel through booking.com and received confirmation but the motel did not have our reservation. There were vacancies and they were very accommodating. Nice room, clean with limited continental breakfast. Tight bathroom space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Clean cottages, refrigerator, micro wave, comfortable bed, heated swimming pool, friendly owner and workers. Free breakfast and WI-FI. What more can I say comfortable place to stay while in this area.

Room Tip: They have larger and smaller cottages, depends on who is traveling with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wow....what a fantastic spot. A group of us stayed at MacKenzies cottages the weekend of July 13th, as we attended a concert at the Osprey Arts Centre. (Steven Page, excellent concert BTW).
Anyway, basically a home away from home. Extremely clean and comfortable. Couldn't ask for a better place to lay your head while in Shelburne.

The owners are more then accommodating.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bell1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Some friends and I were down for a concert at the osprey centre and stayed at the cottages for the night. The cabins were extremely clean and fresh with very nice amenities. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I would stay there again for sure! Also, it was very essy to find. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Husband and I travelled down to Shelburne to see Friends, We booked our room at Mackenzie's via phone a couple of days prior to our departure. While booking over the phone the lady that I spoke with was Sophia she was friendly and helpful and when I was booked advised me that upon our arrival it would probably be Sandra that would be at the front desk.
When we arrived we went in, lovely lady at the front desk I asked are you Sandra? she said yes I am welcome to MacKenzie's.
We stayed in the Renauld Suite in the Main House - it is a very good size room, King bed with lovely large corner whirlpool tub, TV with plenty of channels, and an in room airconditioner. Our room also had direct access to the outdoor pool via patio Doors - Fully fenced pool so no concern about someone just walking up to your patio door. The Bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds that I have slept on away from home.
The staff/owners are interested in where you have been and in any feedback that you may have not only about their motel, but also about anywhere that you ate or visited in the Area.
Included with a nights stay was continental breakfast, it was from 8-10am, there was a selection of at least 4 different cereals, bread, bagels, english muffins, banana's, milk, 2 different types of juice, coffee, tea, jams, jellies, peanut butter, cream cheese, and muffins, and a sweet bread or 2. you served yourself - the seating area was cozy and surrounded by windows - lovely first thing in the morning.
The Staff are welcoming and accommodating - you feel taken care of but not intruded on.
Everyone else staying in the cottages seemed very happy as well.

We would recommend this motel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrajim, Front Office Manager at Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I am very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us . Please feel free to call us at anytime so we can accommodate you once again. Next time you will have to take a dip in the 80 degree pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Whispering Waves Cottages
11.9 mi away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
23.3 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Property: Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Address: 260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie's has been family-owned for decades and offers the best of Nova Scotia's intimate cottages, affordable motel and luxury suites in a park-like, brook-side setting in a great location in the centre of town... something for every taste and budget! Free breakfast and wireless internet is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Hotel Shelburne
Mackenzie's Motel And Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing