We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Shelburne”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Shelburne”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were leisurely vacationing around Nova Scotia and decided to spend a night in Shelburne and had the good fortune to book and stay here. The owners were welcoming and fabulous, the room was period and was almost too good for the price (hope owner does not see this LOL.) Beyond excellent breakfast included.......would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcguiverw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    41
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
159
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Cooper's Inn was a wonderful experience after a day of sightseeing on the coast of Nova Scotia in the town of Shelburne. The host were very helpful and recommended a superb restaurant for dinner and handled the reservations. The town of Shelburne is on the water and made for excellent photographs. They had an excellent breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor near the back entrance was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Cooper's Inn has a prime waterfront location in the midst of historic Shelburne. We stayed in the McGill Room on the second floor. It was small but very comfortable with a water view. We were surprised to find a small bottle of NS wine and a handwritten card welcoming us. Very thoughtful. At breakfast, unlike most B&Bs, we were given a fairly extensive menu from which to choose and encouraged to choose as many items as we'd like and order seconds. The garden area is delightful and the owners and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This Inn is located across the street from the waters edge and is very inviting. The garden/yard area is beautifully done and invites you to spend a moment or two relaxing on the red benches provided for your enjoyment. The innkeepers are very nice and provide you with a lovely place to stay and dine. The breakfast room was tastefully decorated and the meal provided was delicious.
I would definitely come back to this B&B

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSusan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After two unsuccessful attempts in previous years to reserve at the Cooper's Inn, ( our fault entirely, we didn't book early enough!), we enjoyed a delightful two night stay in early September. The Inn fully lived up to its stellar reputation for the perfect location, beautiful decor, easy access to the beauties of Shelburne and, most of all, for its amazing breakfasts! Shelburne and environs are definitely worth at least one overnight and we think Cooper's Inn tops the list for a welcoming place to rest your head. May we also highly recommend Charlotte Lane for dinner - a fabulous restaurant located a 5 minute walk from the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Cooper Inn room had a great view of the ocean. The room was clean although simple. The breakfast had lots of choices and was terrific. It is close to all the activities in the area. The hosts are very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely B&B in this quiet spot with a gorgeous view of the harbour across the street. Had a gorgeous room with huge 4 poster and a massage chair thrown in. The breakfast started with a yummy juice mix and then a choice of fresh baked muffins and hot dishes. It was very pleasant to sit outside in the attached garden where we read and relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.7 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#1 of 2 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
23.4 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Property: Cooper's Inn
Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing