We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodations and Spectacular Sevice at Cooper's Inn”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pat was a wonderful host and made us a terrific breakfast!! Accommodations were beautiful, rooms were very quiet and Downtown Shelburne is gorgeous! The views of the harbor and the historic walkways nearby make the Cooper's Inn an excellent place to stay for both tourists and business travellers

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had been traveling a lot one day and didn't plan on staying in Shelburne but decided to give ourselves a break! My sister had picked up a Cooper's Inn brochure at the information spot as we came in to Nova Scotia so we called. There were three of us and the suite was available so we were very happy to say the least. It was immaculate with 2 bedroom areas, a dining area, large bathroom with washer/dryer, sweet little kitchen, and sitting area. Very spacious and a massage chair in the sitting area! There was complimentary wine/cookies/candy and a lovely greeting. Check in and check out along with the scrumcious breakfast was friendly and above and beyond what is expected. We have discussed planning a vacation around this lovely Inn in the future. Thank you Pat and Paul!

Room Tip: I believe it was the Harbour Suite but I'm not certain. Lovely in every way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We fell in love with the place - such an outstanding location & such a lovely atmosphere. We were treated so nicely and felt totally at ease there. Rooms and building were kept very clean and the staff and owners were cordial and professional. We actually include staying at Cooper's Inn as part of the whole vacation experience as we could not find anything negative to comment on. Should we return, we will certainly hope to be able to book our hotel there. This was a business and family trip combined. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms you will have to be physically mobile as there are stairs and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Cooper's Inn in Shelburne, Nova Scotia is an 18th century property on Dock Street, overlooking the water and right at the start of the Shelburne Historic District. It is run by a couple who know their business and who offer not only their home but their knowledge of the town and its history. There is a very warm and friendly feel to the place, from the initial welcome to the eventual farewell. Little touches, like the complementary cookies and wine and the beautifully laid out enclosed garden add to the experience. The rooms are delightful. The Gracie Room and the Crowell Room are particularly lovely, with great views. And then there's the massage chair! What a stroke of genius! Sit in comfort, gazing at the waterfront after a day of driving or exploring, and have the chair massage away your aches and pains, undo those knotted back muscles and generally make you feel (and say) aaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! :-)
Oh, and the breakfast is simply wonderful, too!

Room Tip: Gracie room has a king bed, Crowell has a queen but a great view. (And Donald Sutherland stayed ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently stayed here as a result of a disastrous attempt to book and check into accommodation in a nearby community. So calling Cooper's Inn was a last minute situation, and I couldn't be happier that I ended up here. The building, the rooms, and the garden are just gorgeous. All of the historic grandeur has been preserved, but the rooms are appointed with all of the modern conveniences too. Everything is a little above-and-beyond here - from the complimentary bottle of wine, biscuits, and chocolates in the room, to the massage chair (lovely after a long day of walking around this amazing, historic town), to the delicious but also artfully presented breakfasts (complete with tea menu and icing sugar dusted flower garnishes). The owners were very helpful in orienting me to the town, places to eat, etc. but otherwise make sure their guests enjoy privacy and quiet. Because I was a single traveller and because the season was starting off quite slow, they also gave me the best room (with lovely views of the garden and of the harbour) at the same rate as their least expensive room. It's certainly not reasonable to expect that all the time, but it's the kind of gesture that will make me return - and happily pay full price - in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchy_Feet_And_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Cooper's Inn is a carefully preserved and very well maintained 18th century house with a contemporary addition that blends well with the historic character of the original home. My wife and I stayed in an upstairs room with a bow-windowed extension, that afforded wonderful views over the garden below, as well as down the waterfront street of historic buildings, and out across the harbor and far up to the mouth of the harbor - spectacular views.
The rooms have been very carefully and attentively restored and converted to comfortable and spacious accommodation for guests, and furnished with wingback chairs, secretary desks that hide flatscreen television sets, comfortable beds and good bedside lighting for reading. The innkeepers go to the extra effort of placing a handwritten note of welcome, along with a small bottle of wine and biscuits in the room for arriving guests.
Breakfast is served at separate tables in the downstairs dining room, and offers a wide variety of choices. The fruit platters, as well as the bacon and eggs dishes we ordered, were beautifully prepared and presented by the friendly innkeepers, along with a plunger pot of coffee, that was cheerfully re-filled.
Cooper's Inn deserves great praise for its outstanding ambience and comfort and for its wonderful location on the historic waterfront of Shelburne.
I regard it as a model for what a small inn in a historic area should be - and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: request upstairs room at front ( in original house, overlooking garden and waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We rolled up in windy light rain without a reservation. The Inn Keeper welcomed us as if we were expected. Even our room was cozy and warm. There are many little, extra touches (including a small bottle of wine and biscuits) in the room. There is a beautiful garden area... not available too us do to cold weather and rain but we admired it. Breakfast was delightful. And on top of all this, great history and great location. Shelburne is a gem.

Room Tip: We were in the back upstairs, with big windows to look out towards the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shelburne hotels
0.7 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: $115 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper's Inn B&B is a 7 room and 1 suite ensuite Inn on Historic Dock Street on Nova Scotia, Canada's Shelburne Harbour. Most facilities are within easy walking distance of the Inn. Museums, restaurants, landmark properties, hiking, biking, trails, parks, Harbour Tours, Kayaking and more. All rooms have private entries, Flat Screen TVs, Free WIfi, Free off street paring, coffee makers, robes, hair dryers, harbour views and easy access to a delightful Garden. Breakfast is included in the rates and offers a diverse selection from an ample menu. Many dietary needs and personal eating requirements are addressed. The Museums on Dock Street draw much attention. The Loyalist History is a popular area of interest. The nearby Black Loyalist Heritage Museum is a world class facility. Eascape the ordinary, where history meets hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing