We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roseway River Cottages
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with great view”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Most cottages in Nova Scotia are ok but lack comfort. These cottages have been updated and are very comfortable. Four large pillows per bed- amazing. Usually I travel with pillows because they are so flat and uncomfortable. Beds relatively new and good quality. Everything is thoughtfully done. Plenty of tourist literature including some menus from local restaurants. Great instructions for the TV (unusual- usually you try to figure out how to get it to work). The covered deck had decent chairs and an amazing view of the river. We brought our own lawnchairs expecting to need them and never took them out of the car. There is only one firepit which all five cottages share and it was a bit boggy in that area with plenty of mosquitoes so no one used it while we were there. It would be nice to have a more accessible firepit in another area. But there was a citronella candle on the deck and we could sit out till dark without being bitten more than once or twice.
The location is great- easy to explore the area. We drove around Cape Sable Island which is worth the drive- amazing white sandy beaches which were deserted.
Looks similar to most cottages in which we have stayed but everything was just a touch better- felt as if the owners had actually stayed overnight in the cottages and figured out what guests would want. Would highly recommend the place and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coldbrook NS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Found!! A great place to stay in Shelburne in a beautiful setting. How fortunate we are to have discovered the Roseway River Cottages. The place is absolutely beautiful. Right on the river with everything you need for a weekend away. My family and I travelled to the Shelburne area for a baseball tournament. While not quite in Shelburne (it's in Ohio), it's only five minutes away. These cottages are very well maintained with lots of upgrades. You'd never suspect they weren't brand new. These cottages have everything you need: towels, fully made beds, toiletries, fully stocked kitchen, personal BBQs etc. All you need to bring is your food. We couldn't be more pleased. Char was so helpful and friendly. She even offered for us to come back to the cottage after we checked out to pass the time between ball games. We'll be back for sure Char. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What an awesome place! The deck and large window overlooking the river is beautiful, whether you're inside or out of the cabin. And the cabin was so well stocked, you just have to bring your food and clothes. Considering all aspects, this is the best place I have ever stayed. I will be back! Thank you so much for what you have done to make the experience so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week in late November. There was snow in the fields and the small pond formed at the turn of the river was half frozen. The cottage was clean, warm and spacious. We had everything we needed and more. Charlene, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. She went beyond the call of duty to make us feel at home. Her dog is a real charm. He loves to play and be spoiled by people. A nice place to take a break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grazyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a beautiful, quiet, clean place to stay. Love the litttle extras, (canoe, paddle boat, playground and fish pond) very reasonably priced. The owner, Charlene, was so very accomodating and made us feel welcomed. Our family hopes to make Canada Day weekend an annual event at the Roseway River Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patr-mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at these beautiful cottages this past weekend, have not been here for two years. We forgot how nice it really was .. so serene, and the proprietor so friendly and accomodating.
The property is so well kept and cottages so clean and welcoming. A little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our family can't get enough of this place! It has everything you could ask for, you just need to bring your clothes! Charlene, the owner is so friendly and makes you feel so welcome. On Sunday's when its time to go back to the city, its sad! Everytime we leave, we can't wait to return! It is my favorite little spot!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunPrincesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
1.4 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
15.5 mi away
Whispering Waves Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#1 of 2 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
24.3 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseway River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseway River Cottages

Property: Roseway River Cottages
Address: 50 Riverview Drive, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseway River Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cottages are spacious & private with full service kitchenettes in a natural setting along the Roseway River, nestled amongst the maple & pine the river flows gently, giving the soul a sense of relation. All of our cottages have a covered deck with a view of the river and BBQ. Cottages 1,2,3 & 4 have 2 bedrooms (one queen & one double bed)Cottage 5 is wheelchair assessible and barrier free with one bedroom (queen bed). Enjoy the river go for a paddle boat ride, or a canoe ride or just crack up an evening campfire by the river & enjoy what nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roseway River Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseway River Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing