We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Beautiful, Tranquil - and a wood stove, too”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nova Scotia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Retreat
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet, Beautiful, Tranquil - and a wood stove, too”
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We just spent a most relaxing weekend at the Four Seasons Retreat on Cobequid Bay. From the minute we arrived stress just melted off thanks to the quiet and beautiful surroundings. We sat by our woodstove for two nights enjoying good books, the view of the water and absolute silence. At 10pm we could hear small waves crashing against the rocks and see the moonlight refelecting off the water. We saw both high (the water was right up to the rocks) and low tide (large, easily walkable mud flats). At 8am, sunrise glistened on the water.

I've never been greeted by friendlier staff, eager to help us in any way and tell us all about the resort - always a wave and a hello as you pass by on a walk. I've had much worse service at five-star resorts.

The cabins themselves have everything you need, from cooking and dishes to a full fridge, to bottle openers and wood for the stove. Yes the decor is a little dated, but it is also cute, clean and you don't have to tiptoe around, afraid of damaging something - you can just relax. In summer there is also a BBQ, pool and hotub, all of which look like they'd be fun. We found the bed to be perfect, not hard like a previous review had mentioned. And yes, you are in the wilderness so you might see an occasional bug or mouse that has found a way into your cabin (we saw exactly one of each in a 48 hour stay). But I have pretty high standards of clenliness, and this resort exceeded my expectations in that area.

Overall, this resort is a wonderful place to spend a quiet weekend away from the chaos of city life. I like that it is affordable, friendly and that the grounds are so well maintained. We will be going back, without hesitation.

  • Liked — The setting, the beauty, the silence and seeing the natural wonder of the Bay
  • Disliked — Stairs down to the beach seem a little dangerous.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleNSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RICHMOND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Couldn't find much info on these cottages before our departure and web site didn't have pictures of the inside of the cottages, so I'm posting a couple. The location was amazing, most of the cottages were right on the water. They have outdoor firepits where you can pay $5 for a wheelbarrow of wood, which would be well worth it if you had the evening to spend sitting outside. Just make sure you have bug repellent, the mosquitos were a bitting. The cottages were nice, loved the wooden walls and ceilings. However, they really need to be updated. They would be first rate if they did, but then they probably wouldn't be such a great economic deal. The furniture in the living area were quite old. The shower was small, even for a 5'3" person like me. Somehow, our bathroom floor got we from our showers and really weren't completely dry by the morning. There is a grill and I would recommend finding a grocery store on your way in and cooking on the grill. The general store did have some things, but nothing we wanted to purchase to cook. There are only two local restaurants, we chose Diane's because it is licensed (sells alcohol). Small down home kind of place, really only fried foods, but boy it was good. I would have enjoyed my stay here much better if we hadn't found a mouse when we got up at 2am to see the high tides (which we couldn't see because it was raining). My husband was able to catch it with the bath mat and toss it outside, but it freaked me out. Glad I didn't wake up in the bed with it. The bed was rather hard, but all in all, not a bad stay. Just know what to expect and you will enjoy it. We did utilize the hot tub next to the pool, but skins was a little filmy after getting out. Was enjoyable, but glad to shower after it. Stuff to do nearby, recommend the Dutman's Farm and the hike at Economy Falls. If you do this hike, know that it is a long drive (6km I believe) down a very rough dirt road. Keep to the right on the road, you will eventually find the parking area. Be prepared for a steep climb back to the parking lot, but it was an enjoyable short hike.

Helpful?
Thank luvcuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The location is amazing. The beach is beautiful (access for the infirm is iffy, though) the fishing is great. Honestly, I have rarely been in a more relaxing spot. The moon reflecting on the water, and the stars at night are breathtaking! It was located close to several fun parks, but the spot itself was so perfect, we rarely felt like leaving.

The cottage we stayed in is overdue for some upgrades. The floors sweat constantly, so anything left on the floor becomes damp quickly. There is no dishwasher, and the nearest laundry facilities are a 30 minute drive. The cutlery and cooking dishes, etc... are old and scarce. The only frying pan was a cast iron skillet which was impossible to cook anything like pancakes or eggs on without sticking. There was also a large number of spiders, especially in the bedroom backing to the woods.

The staff is very friendly. They were able to accomodate us on short notice, and I am very grateful for that. The pool was alot of fun.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — dampness, spiders, cooking utensils
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3boysVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This property has a lovely setting. However, this did not make up for the fact that we smelled mold and mildew the instant we opened the cottage door. We explained to the management that our children are allergic to mold. They did not offer us alternative accommodation. We left the windows open for several hours. This seemed to help somewhat. However, the black flies began coming through the screens and we were forced to shut the windows. At 3:00 a.m., our son had an asthma attack (the first one in years) and we had to give him benadryl and ventolin. My son and I then had to retreat to the rental car to try to get some sleep and so that his breathing didn't get worse. Stay away from this property if anyone in your party has allergies or asthma as the carpet is old and is undoubtedly the source of the problem.

  • Liked — Scenic views
  • Disliked — The musty, moldy smell of the cottage.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allergymomEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2003

What a relaxing vacation! Peace & quiet, super-clean & comfortable cottages. Pool & hot tub were great fun. Gorgeous walking trails. And the view! The Cobequid Bay - high tide & low tide - sunrise to sundown - breathtaking every minute of the day. Proprietors top notch & very accomodating.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2002

This place is awesome! Whether you're a nature nut, the outdoorsy type or just want to get some good ole' fashioned R&R...this is the spot for you! Situated on the shore (beach) of the world famous Bay of Fundy (world's highest tides), in Nova Scotia. This place has, what I would class, executive style cottages. A home away from home, if you will. The scenery is breath-taking, and the sun-rises ...well, suffice it to say, they're worth getting up a little earlier than normal for!! There's a pool, hot-tub, walking trails, gazebos, lots of wildlife (the friendly kind) and a ton of quietness. If you ever have the opportunity to visit with Gordon and Maureen (the proprietors), I'm know that you'll love the experience.

Helpful?
5 Thank TheMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nova Scotia hotels
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Silver House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Lower Economy
2 reviews
22.1 mi away
Gillespie House Inn
Gillespie House Inn
#3 of 7 in Parrsboro
89 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
#1 of 7 in Parrsboro
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
139 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Sunshine Inn
The Sunshine Inn
#1 of 1 in Parrsboro
47 reviews
22.1 mi away
HI-Wentworth International Hostel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Retreat

Property: Four Seasons Retreat
Address: 320 Cove Road, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Nova Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Retreat
Four Seasons Retreat Hotel Nova Scotia
Four Seasons Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing