We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiccup at the start, but finished well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Traders Grill

Traders Grill
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Canadian, American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hiccup at the start, but finished well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our food order somehow got lost and had to wait over 45 minutes. However, the manager dealt with it with much care and provided the adequate resolution to make our meal worthwhile. Would go back again but make sure to call in an reserve a seat as it's a popular place for tour groups.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tchijiiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    89
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good breakfast buffet. Had dinner one evening with a large group. Food was fresh and hot. Our menu was fixed so not able to comment on the actual menu selection Staff were very efficient and friendly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A favourite in YK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I love the food at the Explorer! The ambiance in the dining room is wonderful (especially for YK with its numerous dingy and run down establishments). The food in the past few months has gone from "not too bad" to really great, I'm thinking a new chef may be on staff. The steak at dinner was wonderful as were the mashed potatoes and vegetables. Flavourful, cooked to perfection. The brunches on Sunday has been ramped up a notch with more selection and constant replenishings. A must try while in YK.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nwtnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great steaks.. Loved the crusted pickerel.... Good service. Portions are huge.. Be prepared to split some entries if you do not have a large appetite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Explorer in July with my family for a week. Had dinner twice and loved it. The food was amazing! And the service was great. I would recommend the bison mixed grilled with a glass of red wine. I would also say the Saturday night prime rib special with Yorkshire pudds is well worth the price! However stay away from the Sunday brunch, it is way over priced and and mediocre at best. The omelette station was the only worth while part of the meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dam_imgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traders Grill also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Traders Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing