We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Retreat”
Review of Yellow Dog Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellow Dog Lodge
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been to Yellow Dog Lodge many times now, and this past summer I had the chance to head out there for a office retreat.

It was a wonderful time had by all. A lot of fishing was done, a lot of eating was done, a lot of bonding was done.

The lodge is perfectly laid out for a great adventure or just relaxing with a good book and close friends.

Gord and his staff are amazing folks and jumped to help us and make sure that our time at the lodge was flawless and memorable.

Thanks gang! I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YkOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
1
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been to Yellowdog Lodge about 10 times over the last 12 years and every year it never fails to deliver the ultimate fishing experience! I have caught arctic grayling, trout and pike and you can choose whether you fish for volume or quantity just by fishing in a few different spots on either Duncan or Graham Lake. The Lodge and area is amazing, you can fish right from the shore, head out on hikes up to the cliffs, relax on the deck, hit the hot tub or sauna or just hanging out in the lodge itself. The staff are very accommodating, there is no shortage of food! The close proximity to Yellowknife makes it a very easy Lodge to travel to, only a short 20 minute flight into the lodge! I have been to a few other lodges and I can easily say that Yellowdog Lodge is my favorite and I will continue to return to this lodge as often as I can!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a more rustic experience the cabins are beautiful. The rooms in the main lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamDirtyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crete, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The lodge was clean and food was awesome. Would recomend this place to anyone. The Scenery was beautiful. Fishing was good. The shore lunches were just perfect.


Thanks Yellow Dog Lodge for the great time,


Brian Schmidt

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful lodge with the nicest people-we have been there now at least 4 times.Highly recommend if you want peace and quiet with all the mod-cons.Great fishing and some of the most spectacular scenery in the world-great hot -tub under the stars and aurora borealis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwana1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I visited the lodge a few years back. It was clean, comfortable, with first rate boats and gear. The sauna was just fine too. I didn't try the hot tub. They did a nice job taking cafe of me. The food was good and hearty in that meat and potatoes kind of way, and far more than I could ever ever eat. The young fellow who took me around was a delight. I went primarily to fly fish for pike. I got 13 or so all around 30 to 39 inches (plus a bunch of smaller guys) the first night and saw one more that made the 39 incher' look small. The pike fishing tailed off after that but never actually stopped. The scenery was the most memorable part for me. Just beautiful. The only suggestion I would give is don't let the lodge owner smoke you any fish it was just awful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our first time in the NWT, and thanks to Gord and his crew we fell in love with the area and with the folks at the lodge. Fishing was great, scenery was incredibly beautiful, the lodge was clean, neat, and well equipped with everything:
from hot tub to steam baths,
from private rooms to friendly living room,
from Internet to "dog house" tent-cabin,
from immediate supply store with fishing supplies to clean, comfortable, and well-kept boats, from outdoor patio to laundry room
from fresh smoked fish to great shore lunches
- everything one might dream of on such a vacation. Garrett's (THE guide) nose for fish was like a bloodhound's - incredible. We enjoyed the fact that we were not crowded with unwanted and ill-fitting luxuries such as a fitness center in the middle of the wilderness. This trip delivered more than was promised! We definitely hope to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great, as was the float tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited the lodge this summer on a work retreat with 5 other colleagues. No cell reception meant we could all getaway from work. ( internet was available) Gord offered a friendly welcome and made sure all guests felt at home. Heddy had homecooked meals for us 3 times a day and our Prime Rib feast on friday out on the deck was memorable. None of us were fisherman but Gord still helped us out, got us geared up as we went out cruising in the boats. We ended up all catching a nice sized fish. I would highly recomend this property for fishing or simply relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
34.0 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
416 reviews
34.0 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
43 reviews
35.1 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
33.2 mi away
Blachford Lake Lodge
Blachford Lake Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yellowknife
97 reviews
33.1 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Yellowknife
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Dog Lodge

Property: Yellow Dog Lodge
Address: N62 53'28 | W113 52'04, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N6, Canada (Formerly Pilote Point Lodge)
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Dog Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellow Dog Lodge is located between beautiful Duncan and Graham Lakes, only a 15 minute float plane ride north east of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada. The lodge features great sport fishing, brilliant northern lights, opportunities for paddling and outdoor adventure and knowledgeable friendly staff. We have 7 lakes and 2 streams that offer the finest lake trout, northern pike, walleye and arctic grayling in the region. The natural beauty of the Northern Canadian Wilderness is pristine and we are committed to providing you with the best of nature and ensuring the same for those who follow. Endorsed by the Canadian Tourism Commission as a Signature Experience Collection of Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yellow Dog Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing