We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowknife
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Embleton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
toronto
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Accommodations in Yellowknife tend to cost a bit more and Embleton House is a solid choice. Located in the newer town centre, it is just a short walk to downtown area, a couple of streets over and it gets a bit edgier. Street parking, we felt completely safe and secure. The owners were incredibly welcoming and we enjoyed our chats and we did not hear their dogs barking much and they are very friendly. Clean, comfortable room with ensuite and kitchenette, breakfast items available stocked for the duration of our stay. Computer with internet access in our room and a diverse cable tv package. Restaurant and sightseeing tips. A great choice.

905Canada

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
13
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

I highly recommend staying at Embleton B&B. Their suites offered so much more than the conventional hotel room does, and it was less expensive as well. I enjoyed the in-room kitchen with well stocked fridge and large bathroom facilities. Ken & Faith were great hosts, and even the dogs wagged their tails when I came "home".
Thanks for lovely Yellowknife hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liezl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We have had the opportunity to stay with Faith & Ken Embletons B&B on a couple of occations. I have never felt so...at home. They cater to your every need. They even often welcomed us into their Living Quaters for dinners & refreshments.( All free to us )
We stayed in both the single rooms & a suite - as our stays were 2 & 3 weeks.
The rooms down stairs are not as large as the larger Suites / rooms - however you get what you pay for & they all have theme's & are nice. You do not want for anything.
The shared accomadations were great, just like being at home - but much cleaner - hee-he ! You get to meet, socialize & make friends from all over the world.
We have stayed at other B&B's and this couple were the most accomadating & friendliest people we have stayed with.
The breakfest foods provided were the same for the suites, and rooms ( we have stayed in both ).
As for breakfest food provided - you'd never go hungry. They provide pretty well everything / anything one would desire for breakfest & as much as you like - daily.
You can make yourself Coffee/Tea, and food anytime of day. It's such a relaxing place to stay.
They also have a small outdoor, very private roofed Patio - where you can go in your PJ's & slippers to eat your breakfest, or have your Coffee or on those hot Summer Nights when you just want to relax with your bottle of Wine.
The entire place is spotless, with an abundance of fluffy, fresh Towels daily.
No one could expect a discount, when they offer their services 24/7. They gave us rides down town & sight seeing - all free of charge. They welcomed & treated us like family.

In Yellowknife there are Street People ( addicts & drugs ) like in every City - however Ken & Faiths B&B is located on a quiet road, away from the down town core.
We felt very save there, for Ken & Faith live in the premises/ making sure that everyone is always secure, the yard is gated & fenced in & all doors are always locked with key Codes ( provided).
As smokers we were welcome to smoke only out doors on their decks & Patio with Ken, where he was always very friendly & full of information. Smokers are most often treated like & feel like out cast. Here - it felt like home - away from home.
Ken does not ever smoke in-doors, even at -40 C for the sake of their valued customers.
Thumbs up - Ken & Faith !!! We are looking forward to staying with you again sometime.
Bravo !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace River, Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We were put in the tiniest bedroom and yet charged the same rate as much larger rooms. One would think a 14-night stay would get a better rate as well - BUT NO! There is no parking except on the street, and our rental car had its back window bashed in by vandals. The host smokes and we often smelled the smoke in our BASEMENT room. There was very little ventilation or natural light. The nights were hot and very uncomfortable. The only thing I can say positive is that the place is really clean. The breakfast food provided is poor (fake juice for instance, freezer-burned white bread), and the bathroom is right off the kitchen, making for unpleasant odors to go with breakfast. Being close to the downtown core is a blessing and a curse, as there are a lot of drunks and drug addicts around. We would NEVER recommend Embleton House under any circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KathyMorash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed at Embleton house had never been to Yellowknife before...Ken and Faith were unbeleivable excellent hostess'...went above and beyond, to ensure my stay was nothing but an excellent vacation. Any questions I had about YK they were more then willing to help me out. Rooms were unbeleiveable, Spotless..., breakfast at my own convience, any time of day...I totally felt at ease, it was just like being at home but better!..I would HIGHLY recommend The "Embleton House B& B" to everyone, and anyone who is looking for a home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritishBeauty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Lake, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Small appearance from the outside is very deceiving. The rooms in the B&B are spacious and bright. They are remarkably clean and quiet. The suites have a kitchenette, a large jet tub, fireplace, sky-light, a computer and their own seperate bathroom. They are beautifully decorated.
Embelton is right down town so you have easy access to everything you could possibly want and the hosts can tell you the sites to check out.
We went for a quick weekend getaway but definitely could have stayed much longer and would return to this B&B should we go back to Yellowknife. It is priced similarly to a hotel room but has so much more to offer.
Cannot recomment this B&B enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy_Chris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

My mom and I went to Yellowknife to celebrate my 50th birthday. Our hostess, Faith, knew it was my birthday and had a birthday bouquet in the room and a card for me. It was a really lovely gesture and just a hint of a shadow of a glimmer of the other delights in store for us. If you tend to avoid b&bs, give this one a try. The rooms have separate entrances and fully stocked kitchenettes, so you can have a private breakfast at your leisure. The rooms are extremely well-insulated and we were comfortable in shorts and tees. Our room was spotless, comfortable, nicely furnished and decorated with paintings by Faith (she's a surprising woman with many talents). The house is unassuming from the outside, but once you're inside, you're transported to a magical spot in this charming town. Faith and Ken run the b&b, and seem to do it all. My mom and I went to Yellowknife in hopes of seeing northern lights. We asked Faith and Ken to call us anytime during the night if they spotted them (yes, they are visible from the street). One night seemed particularly promising, and since they were going to Ice Road for a look, they invited us. We saw displays of ghostly, shimmering green lights.

My mom and I have stayed at lots of b&bs and have fond memories of most of them, but what was particularly striking about Ken and Faith as hosts, is their sense of wonder and enjoyment of the beauty and nature around them, and appreciating it anew with their guests.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.5 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Yellowknife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embleton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embleton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Embleton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5203 52 St, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embleton House is an award winning B&B located in the heart of down town Yellowknife. It offers 4 self contained Luxury Studio Suites as well as 3 Standard private B&B rooms. It is loaded with extra amenities to please the best of die hard travellers, and is quite, clean, comfortable and affordable. The hosts of this B&B are well connected in the business community and willing to offer lots of great tour and entertainment tips. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing