We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Fort Smith, Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a good place to stay when in Yellowknife. This fitness room was good although it could use more weights. It is walking distance from all places downtown. I will stay here again when I come back to Yellowknife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortsmithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We thank you fortsmithman for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I couldn't agree with you more with the location of the Capital Suites Yellowknife we are just minutes to anywhere downtown without having the busy downtown noises. As far as the Fitness Centre we have just recently added a couple of new machines with future plans for more upgrades which could include a universal gym machine. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
20
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband was posted here to yellowknife, We booked with capital suites, while here in the hotel we found out our furniture and other belongings would not be arriving until after the 10th of September, we only booked the hotel until the 6th. We wanted to extend our stay at the hotel and we were told all rooms were booked on the 9-10-11, as there was a conference coming to town. My husband and I are in a panic now as we called every other hotel here and they were all booked. Capital Suites came though for us. They worked it out so we would be able to stay in the hotel until the 15 when our stuff arrived. I love the people who work here, they go the extra mile to try to try and make your stay with them pleasant. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. I found the prices good as well. I am glad we stayed at this hotel and not another one as we might not have a room right now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Teresa B for the wonderful review. We are pleased to welcome families that are transfering into theYellowknife Region fron the Military/Government and waiting to get into thier Houses or Apartments.I am happy to hear you enjoyed our relatiivley new Aurora Bedding Program (new beds & all new Pillows & Linen ). It is our goal with the Capital Suites Yellowknife Management & Staff to go that extra mile to ensure a stress free, as well as a comfortable pleasant stay for every Guest. We enjoyed having you stay with us Teresa B & would like to offer the same welcome to any friend or family member you refer to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the Capital Suites for 5 weeks and was very satisfied with the room and services available. I encountered no problems during my stay. It is a very peaceful location so I was able to get lots of rest and relaxation. The location is central to everything that Yellowknife has to offer, as I was on foot this was of utmost importance. The staff was very pleasant to deal with and made sure that my stay was as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorettaparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review & sharing your comments on your stay with us Lorettaparrent we enjoyed having you stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed our Spacious Rooms & quiet location on the outskirts of Downtown Yellowknife only a 5-10 minute walk to shopping & restaraunts .We believe we are an excellent alternative for those who do not wish to eat out every night, as we offer our Suites with Fully equipped Kitchens so they may cook in the comfort of thier room. Thank you again for your feedback & look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed here a lot with work and have had a decent stay. The staff are fantastic-very helpful and accommodating. Rooms are very clean, beds are pretty comfortable which is the main thing. It's a nice perk to have a closet in the rooms to store/organize your days!

Wifi is strong, parking has not been a problem to find each time (just tight with big trucks). Most stays are quiet, although there have been a few very disruptive nights with banging of something, and people. Tip: get a room with a secondary door in the room that you can close which seems to block hall/patron noise.

Main areas often smell clean and you see staff actively working on the buildings cleanliness which is great to see (often seemingly absent in other hotels). Will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a closing center room door to block hall/patron noise on busy nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequenttravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one week. Nothing out of the ordinary. Room was clean. No ice machine! Hotel itself needs a bit of work .. hallway carpets are looking pretty shabby. Have stayed in better accommodation for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do enjoy receiving feedback from our guests.We are continuing to upgrade & do changes to the Hotel Building & Lobby as well as the Rooms & services being offered over the next little while, The Newest changes/upgrades: Brand New Ice Machine located next to the snack machines in the Lobby & all of the rooms on the second & third floors have been reinsulated/soundproofed between rooms & the Standard Suites have their own climate control now. We also have done our bi-yearly carpet cleaning in all the hallways just recently which has made a huge difference, we have plans of replacing carpets in all the hallways & stairwells within the year. Our rates at the Capital Suites Yellowknife are considered one of the lowest in town. Ask about our weekly or monthly rates if you are staying that long. Again thank you for your feedback & we would like to invite you back to the Capital Suites anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landmark, MB Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Once again while work took us to Kugluktuk, Nunavut we were priviledged to stay overnight in Yellowknife. Our choice of hotel was the Capital Suites. This newly renovated hotel has all the comfort you need. The staff are most friendly and helpful and the rooms are great. We stayed there both going to work March 1, 2013 and coming back March 15, 2013. Our choice will always be the Capital Suites when in the beautiful city of Yellowknife.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you again Bob M for the great review, we always look forward to your stay with us at the Capital Suites Yellowknife. We will be continuing to upgrade & do changes to the Hotel Building & Lobby as well as the Rooms & services being offered over the next little while, The Newest changes/upgrades: Brand New Ice Machine located next to the snack machines in the Lobby & all of the rooms on the second & third floors have been reinsulated/soundproofed between rooms & the Standard Suites have their own climate control now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip. My partner and I stayed in a two bedroom suite. The master bedroom has an ensuite, and the entire place seemed very clean. The decor was very nice, and the kitchen, while plain, was very functional. There is even a large storage closet, should you require extra space.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the restaurants/bars downtown. Sadly no food nearby, and a walk downtown for breakfast is required, unless you stock up on groceries.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretties4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Pretties4U

Thank you for your review, we do enjoy receiving feedback from our guests. Our 2 Bedrooms are quite spacious, with lots of storage space available. Unfortunately we do not have restaurant on site & no plans in the near future, however there is one restaurant 5 minutes away down the block (Sushi Cafe). What we do offer at the Capital Suites is an all suites Hotel with a lot of our units offering a full kitchen. There is a newly renovated Grocery Store 10 minutes away in the downtown & a smaller Convenience Store 5 minutes down the block. We do have a snack machine in the lobby that offers snacks & some smaller meal options (Tuna, KD, Insta Rice etc....) We are looking into the possibility of opening a Pantry at the Front Desk and we now have a brand new Ice Machine at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Suites Yellowknife

Property: Capital Suites Yellowknife
Address: 100 5603 | 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Suites Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Capital Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing