We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one week. Nothing out of the ordinary. Room was clean. No ice machine! Hotel itself needs a bit of work .. hallway carpets are looking pretty shabby. Have stayed in better accommodation for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do enjoy receiving feedback from our guests.We are continuing to upgrade & do changes to the Hotel Building & Lobby as well as the Rooms & services being offered over the next little while, The Newest changes/upgrades: Brand New Ice Machine located next to the snack machines in the Lobby & all of the rooms on the second & third floors have been reinsulated/soundproofed between rooms & the Standard Suites have their own climate control now. We also have done our bi-yearly carpet cleaning in all the hallways just recently which has made a huge difference, we have plans of replacing carpets in all the hallways & stairwells within the year. Our rates at the Capital Suites Yellowknife are considered one of the lowest in town. Ask about our weekly or monthly rates if you are staying that long. Again thank you for your feedback & we would like to invite you back to the Capital Suites anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
20
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Landmark, MB Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Once again while work took us to Kugluktuk, Nunavut we were priviledged to stay overnight in Yellowknife. Our choice of hotel was the Capital Suites. This newly renovated hotel has all the comfort you need. The staff are most friendly and helpful and the rooms are great. We stayed there both going to work March 1, 2013 and coming back March 15, 2013. Our choice will always be the Capital Suites when in the beautiful city of Yellowknife.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you again Bob M for the great review, we always look forward to your stay with us at the Capital Suites Yellowknife. We will be continuing to upgrade & do changes to the Hotel Building & Lobby as well as the Rooms & services being offered over the next little while, The Newest changes/upgrades: Brand New Ice Machine located next to the snack machines in the Lobby & all of the rooms on the second & third floors have been reinsulated/soundproofed between rooms & the Standard Suites have their own climate control now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip. My partner and I stayed in a two bedroom suite. The master bedroom has an ensuite, and the entire place seemed very clean. The decor was very nice, and the kitchen, while plain, was very functional. There is even a large storage closet, should you require extra space.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the restaurants/bars downtown. Sadly no food nearby, and a walk downtown for breakfast is required, unless you stock up on groceries.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pretties4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Pretties4U

Thank you for your review, we do enjoy receiving feedback from our guests. Our 2 Bedrooms are quite spacious, with lots of storage space available. Unfortunately we do not have restaurant on site & no plans in the near future, however there is one restaurant 5 minutes away down the block (Sushi Cafe). What we do offer at the Capital Suites is an all suites Hotel with a lot of our units offering a full kitchen. There is a newly renovated Grocery Store 10 minutes away in the downtown & a smaller Convenience Store 5 minutes down the block. We do have a snack machine in the lobby that offers snacks & some smaller meal options (Tuna, KD, Insta Rice etc....) We are looking into the possibility of opening a Pantry at the Front Desk and we now have a brand new Ice Machine at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stay here a couple of times per year on business . I meet clients here and the rooms are very professional. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Well stocked kitchen and central location to downtown. The areas that I have noticed huge improvements are in quality of furnishings, service of housekeeping. I also like that they have a manned snack shop versus vending machines( much fresher) and they have improved the wireless and security in the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good Evening Arun M,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and great review. We are working hard towards bringing up the level of service we offer at the desk as well as the cleanliness and level of service we offer in the rooms.We are doing upgrades and renovations in all the rooms and throughout the Hotel. We have new flat screen tv's, new furniture, new beds with our Aurora bedding program and have just upgraded to a new wireless system with much faster & better connection. We have however just closed the store down and are in the midst of replacing with a a coke machine & snack vending machine & are hoping to add a new Ice Machine in the near future which will be available 24 hrs a day Again thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to hosting you again or your when you return to Yellowknife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed here off and on for work and very pleased with each stay!

Benefits:
Location
Comfortable rooms
Accessible and friendly staff
Business center
Clean rooms, hotel itself and comfortable beds
Pet friendly
Accommodating to late check-outs
Internet strong

Downside:
Rooms can be noisy with other guests at times, which sometimes goes very late. Staff do however address this promptly.
Pet charge somewhat high-$25/night...which adds up when staying for a little bit, where some hotels charge $25-35 per stay, vs per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequenttravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good Evening FrequenttravellerNT,

I would like to thank you for your continued business and wonderful review. We continue to strive hard towards bringing up the quality of the service we offer as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. Noise is an issue we continue to work hard on containing, we have just recently started new construction on taking out the adjoining doors & adding a better sound barrier between the rooms . Again thank you for your comments, we look forward to hosting you again when you return to Yellowknife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Yellowknife Capital Suites in October 2012 and enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of the room as well as the friendliness of the staff—they were very accommodating and indeed professional. The hotel has definitely undergone a remarkable transformation from the last time I stayed there.
I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bright_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Good Morning Bright_DL, I would like to thank you for your recent visit and wonderful review. We have been working hard towards bringing up the quality of the service we offer and the cleanliness of our rooms. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Yellowknife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently moved to Yellowknife and stayed at the hotel while looking for an apartment. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. Having a full kitchen is a plus as well because it's not budget friendly to eat out in this town unless you go to McDonalds. I would definitely recommend this place for long term stays. The rooms are also being upgraded and renovations being done.
It's only a short walk away from downtown to be close to the amenities but far enough to avoid the late night street crowds/noise in the downtown core especially on the weekends. Overall, a great place for long term stays in Yellowknife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good Morning Atyiya, I would like to thank you for your recent visit and wonderful review. We are working hard towards bringing up the level of service we offer at the desk as well as the cleanliness and level of service we offer in the rooms. It is true our 1 bedroom suites are quite spacious and we are doing upgrades and renovations in all the rooms and throughout the Hotel. We have new flat screen tv's, new furniture, new beds and we will be getting new hallway carpeting in the new year. The new renovations in the lobby were done just in the past 8 months and we are hoping to go even further in the New Year with an outside Lobby area facelift just waiting on approval. Again thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to hosting you again or your when you return to Yellowknife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Suites Yellowknife

Property: Capital Suites Yellowknife
Address: 100 5603 | 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Suites Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Capital Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing