We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ice fishing”

Bluefish Services - Tours
GTA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ice fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

so cool to go out in the snowbear, able to ice fish in comfort. Greg had an underwater camera and so we saw the fish, saw pike, whitefish and caught a ling cod! great time

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Ice Fishing Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband was skeptical when I added ice fishing to our list of to-dos for Yellowknife. Not only does ice fishing demand patience, a challenge for our ten-year old twins, but come on, ice fishing means being exposed to the cold right? We were very happy when Greg introduced us to his SnoBear, a “fishing hut” on wheels. With the door shut, it was the perfect temperature with our winter gear minus gloves. Once we got out to our fishing spot, Greg set about to create a new fishing hole. The kids were completely enthralled with the process and quickly helped with the clearing of ice and snow from the fishing holes. After Greg backed his SnoBear over the holes, we removed the caps on the floor of the vehicle which were over the holes, and viola, a perfect fishing setup. After baiting our three lines, Greg lowered a camera into the fourth hole and we could now see the water column all the way to the lake bottom. After about an hour, with several fish only seen on the camera, the kids were itching to do something else. Greg had brought along his training kite for kite skiing and that got the kids’ attention. While they were busy with the kite, we continued fishing. It was amazing to see a Northern Pike clearly on the camera as it approached and took the bait. Greg helped us reel it into the Snobear for a photo op, then released it back through the hole, and we watched it swim away on the camera. Greg was terrific with the kids.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went ice fishing with Bluefish Services. Greg is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. He has this "Snobear" which is extremely nice. You stay warm inside the Snobear while you can still enjoy fishing on the ice. The overall experience was really fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank faith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing day pike fishing with Bluefish Services. Greg is an amazing guide. We did not see another boat the whole day.... but we sure saw a lot of pike. Not only was the fishing incredible, but the equipment was first rate. I highly recommend getting the shore fish fry. I never knew pike could taste that good. The highlight of the day was my son catching a 42 inch pike. An unforgettable day!

Helpful?
2 Thank tshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Fishing Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our family of six went on a fishing charter in early Sept. with Greg from Bluefish Services & it was terrific. Very friendly, hospitable, knowledgeable and safety conscious guide, with good quality equipment. They were able to accommodate all of us in one boat, and it had a windshield & covered area to keep us a little warmer when travelling out.

We initially landed on a small island - where we could spread out & practice our casting skills. Caught a few fish there too! Then back into the boat and off to another area where the pike were huge and plentiful. Greg & his assistant Matt were very careful when handling the fish - it was catch & release, and barbless hooks were utilized. We caught about 3 dozen large pike in a couple of hours - great adventure for us city dwellers!

On our way back in, we slowly passed through the houseboat settlement - very interesting to hear about their background and current issues - those tidbits are only gleaned from conversation with long-time residents.

I heartily endorse going fishing with Greg & Bluefish if you're looking for a great adventure while in Yellowknife!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MomsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluefish Services - Tours also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Bluefish Services - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing