We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/hotel in Yellowknife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location/hotel in Yellowknife”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Days Inns can be a bit hit or miss - but this is one of the nicer ones I've ever seen. Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014 - in a room in the main hotel. Great location - between Old Town and Downtown. Front desk staff extremely helpful and friendly. Plenty of restaurants nearby and a small convenience store across the street. Wifi worked great and micro/fridge combo in the room was perfect for snacks and drinks (hot chocolate). Overall, very pleasantly surprised and a great price compared to other hotels in Yellowknife. As someone mentioned, there is a property across the street - but it's literally across the street, so not sure why that's such an issue. Yes it's cold - but it's Yellowknife - not sure what else you would expect there.

Room Tip: Rooms along main road were probably a bit noisier than those in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Lawrence D
WOW, thank you for the wonderful feedback.

This one has been posted on our staff message board, with a happy face!

We love hearing from our guests, every comment makes us try harder to improve our hotel and our level of service.
All of our guests are VIPs; we look forward to seeing you again!

Cindy Rowe
GSM
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
20
24
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I went to this hotel at the beginning of January, and I stayed for 3 nights. After 2 weeks I realized my credit card got charged $470 from them. I already prepaid room fee to the travel agent. I sent and Email to CS, and they took me a week to get my full refund. I had had to settle my credit card bill before I got my refund. They admit it was their fault in the email, but I think this kind of error is unacceptable to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Good day leepenguin

Thank you for the taking the time to give us feed-back on your hotel experience.

I do apologize, for the mix up with the charges for your room.
Correct check in and billing procedures were reviewed with the front desk. We understand that there was a communication issue between the front desks and that the pre-paid booking was done through a third.

Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience, and we will continually review check in/billing procedures.

Cindy Rowe
GSM
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowknife hotels

Zama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed this hotel to see aurora.

Good point
 ・ This hotel has good restaurant in Yellowkife
※ Yellowknife is the frozen place, So visiter will go out a few time.
・ big size bed,a microwave oven and clean room.
・ reasonable price 
・ front stuff (multinational)

Bad point
・ thin wall.very noizy.
 
オーロラを見るために泊まりました。
良い点
 ・美味しいレストランがあります。(イエローナイフは寒いのであまり外に出たくないので便利です)
 ・電子レンジ、大きいベッド、綺麗な部屋
 ・安い
 ・フロントに日本人がいる。
悪い点
 ・壁が薄くてうるさい。
オーロラツアーから帰ってくる人の時間は人それぞれ違うので深夜にガヤガヤしています。
 ・ツアー客の帰りが重なるとお湯の出が悪くなる。
最悪、水しかでない時間帯が少しありました。待っていたら改善しました。

Room Tip: You should reserve a room on 4th floor. It would save noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank do1ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a suite booked until we found out it was across the street and well that wasn't going to work it was cold as Hell outside, it was just a room we booked late there are nicer hotels there was a Chinese place upstairs that was under new ownership and had off hours for dinning, it did the job and maybe a year later with it being The Day's Inn it has reached a higher standard. I believe it was the Nova under construction which again they did not tell us at the time of booking sometimes just a heads up can save your review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We scheduled a meeting with all participants coming in from out of town. Booked 10 hotel rooms along with a meeting room, equipment and catering. The lobby and rooms were nice in this recently renovated property formerly known as the "Nova". Unfortunately they have another building that is located about 100 yards away, and across the street. If you are unlucky enough to get booked in the secondary "suites" building you will not be notified in advance and you can look forward to dragging your luggage across the street and down the sidewalk in rain or snow - snow in my case. The service for the meeting arrangements was not good. We had to go looking for someone to give us a key to the room and then for someone else to set up the equipment that had been requested in advance. Then we found out that the teleconference phone we required would not even work in that meeting room. Someone should have known that ahead of time. Luckily their other meeting room was available so we were able to quickly move in there. The catering was provided by TREK, a restaurant located in the hotel but managed separately. The folks there were very friendly, the food was good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Confirm that your room is not in the separate building down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishforbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife

Property: Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Address: 4401 50th Ave, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N2, Canada (Formerly Chateau Nova)
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing