We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel lobby was nice, second only to the explorer I'd say. Rooms have been pretty well renovated/updated. Cleaners were a little behind in getting rooms ready but I was upgraded at no cost due to my room being unavailable, so that was sweet. Wifi not too bad either, for those that like to do more than just watch tv.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Friendly service staff. Basic room with poor ventilation and not buffered from road noise. Dinner at restaurant was unsatisfactory, limited menu items available and salad had unwashed greens with dirt clumped to the leaves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights in this Inn, in a one bedroom room. The place seems to have been recently updated - new carpeting in the room for sure. The bed was okay for comfort. The pillows were thin and not great. I was on a business trip to film Arctic Air and so the production company paid for the room thus I have no idea if it was a good value or not but I would not pay more than $100 a night for this room.

The walls are thin! I could hear everything from a room across the hall and down one door. Lots of Japanese tourists and they tend to talk very loudly also they had a baby in that room and I could hear it crying. Bring good earplugs!

All of the girls behind the reception desk were Asian and a couple of them could not understand English very well. I understand the need for Japanese speaking staff when the majority of your guests come from there but they HAVE to be able to converse in English for the rest of us.

I would not stay here again. We were booked in here because The Explorer, where crew is usually housed, was full for the weekend. I stayed there for the second two nights of the trip and it was much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyBeachBumTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim N, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Greetings Sandra,

Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Days Inn and Suites is in a process changing its standards. We are frequently upgrading our room amenities (comforters and pillows included) and other areas of the hotel. We just opened our new restaurant (TREK) which will provide a sumptuous menu and room service to our guests. After reading your comment about our front desk communication difficulties, immediate actions were being taken to ensure that English speaking staff is always available to serve our guest needs.

With all these exciting changes happening within the next few weeks at the Days Inn Hotel, we do hope we are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back again and experience a great and unique Northern Hospitality.Thank you again Sandra for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments are imperative to our continued success!

Warm regards,

Ibrahim T. Neviri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibrahim N, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibrahim N, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ok, stayed here back in July & found a nicely renovated hotel with a great central location & easy walking distance to Old Town. The reservation this time got mixed up but mgmt quickly got us fixed up with a suite - cant ask for much more than that:)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojave29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Check-in only had one attendant and took close to 20 minutes. A bit unreasonable given the volume of people coming in on scheduled flights daily. Once checked in, the room was not made (from the previous customer). The room was your standard budget hotel, old furniture, adequate cleanliness. We had reserved for 4 in a room, yet the room only contained three sets of towels and a total of 3 coat hangers. Back at the desk for a third time, extra towels were received but no coat hangers (finally got some more the following day).

It is located within a 15 minute walk to Old town. The other way, it's a 10 minute walk to the Explorer Hotel, Shoppers Drug Mart, Grocery store. We realized that at Pilot's Monument, you can see the Aurora lights well (without any tour cost). A local lady mentioned it as a good place to see the lights while on our plane ride into Yellowknife.

Room Tip: Try a room on the ground floor for easy walkout access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchijiiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife

Address: 4401 50th Ave, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N2, Canada (Formerly Chateau Nova)
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: $131 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing