We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your best bet in YK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Wild Rose Country
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Your best bet in YK”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ok, stayed here back in July & found a nicely renovated hotel with a great central location & easy walking distance to Old Town. The reservation this time got mixed up but mgmt quickly got us fixed up with a suite - cant ask for much more than that:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojave29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
20
24
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Check-in only had one attendant and took close to 20 minutes. A bit unreasonable given the volume of people coming in on scheduled flights daily. Once checked in, the room was not made (from the previous customer). The room was your standard budget hotel, old furniture, adequate cleanliness. We had reserved for 4 in a room, yet the room only contained three sets of towels and a total of 3 coat hangers. Back at the desk for a third time, extra towels were received but no coat hangers (finally got some more the following day).

It is located within a 15 minute walk to Old town. The other way, it's a 10 minute walk to the Explorer Hotel, Shoppers Drug Mart, Grocery store. We realized that at Pilot's Monument, you can see the Aurora lights well (without any tour cost). A local lady mentioned it as a good place to see the lights while on our plane ride into Yellowknife.

Room Tip: Try a room on the ground floor for easy walkout access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchijiiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is ordinary, starting to show its age. New comforter covers are the norm at all hotels right now, this one no different. Televisions are updated, but they are small. Picture quality is good. Some of the better amenities of the annex (the "suites" hotel across and down the road) are no longer present, such as bar fridges in the rooms.

My biggest complaint is the almost impossible internet. Bandwidth is stopped at 30 Megs, which means you cannot download any document past 30MB. You cannot be on video conference past 30MB. You cannot even skype past 30MB. All this to say, it is not possible to do any kind of internet based work here. I have contacted the General Manager who gave me the name of the ISP and after 40 minutes on the line with them, there is no change. Time is valuable, and I do not have time to troubleshoot a hotel problem. In the end, the ISP informed me they do not allow bandwidth usage beyond 30MB. Not acceptable.

In the internet age, it is unacceptable to have poor, or interrupted connectivity. If being connected is important to you, choose another hotel or likely better, a B&B. The best connectivity I have experienced in Yellowknife was at the Capitol Suites. Days Inn fails in this regard.

This is night one of three. We will see if there is any improvement.

Room Tip: Franklin Ave is noisy. Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim N, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Greetings,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your stay with us at Yellowknife Days Inn. I do apologize for your less then desirable internet experience you experienced when you stayed with us. Though internet service has not been an issue at our property since our last service upgrade two years ago and we pride ourselves in offering one of the fastest internet services in town, we are greatly sorry to hear that you were unable to load and surf the webpage of your choice.

Though the hotel is in process of frequent upgrades of their rooms and suites (fridges and microwaves included) and due to its increased popularity in the North, we try our best to honor all of our guest requests. Unfortunately, sometimes in a sold out situation this can be a difficult. Again, I do apologize for the internet issue you had during your stay. When you return to the area, we hope that you will give us an opportunity to provide you with our outstanding customer service; we are known for and pride ourselves in the Arctic North.

Sincerely,

Ibrahim T. Neviri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Made my reservations well in advance of a big trip involving 7 friends going on a fishing trip. The day international trip bringing 7 people from all over the United States together I got a call from Ibrahim the manager asking if I still need my reservation....rooms were gone and he was working in getting me something at another hotel. He did find me some rooms but it was a higher rate and quite a bit of hassle while traveling.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 6TMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim N, Manager at Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is sad hearing that we were unable to accommodate you at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by moving you to another hotel. Due to an increased popularity of our property and what we offer, we try do our best to accommodate all guests in our beautiful hotel, but, as you experienced, sometimes it is very difficult.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of my personal attention.

Sincerely,

Ibrahim T. Neviri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowknife hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife

Property: Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Address: 4401 50th Ave, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N2, Canada (Formerly Chateau Nova)
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing