We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Dancing Moose Cafe

Dancing Moose Cafe
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the ambiance of Old Yellowknife. In summer, dine outside on Yellowknife Bay under the midnight sun. In winter, inside, while checking out the Northern Lights. We are licensed, offer premium coffees & desserts, breakfast, lunch and supper. Open Tuesday to Sunday, 9 AM TO 9 PM.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stopped by this place based on previous reviews I had read prepping for my trip to Yellowknife. It did not disappoint. Had a cup of their butternut squash soup, and whitefish and chips, all were hot and delicious. Service was attentive and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    70
    24
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate here several times during our stay in Yellowknife for both breakfast and lunch. The menu choices were always interesting and tasty. Its location overlooking its own garden and Yellowknife Bay with the float planes landing right in front is inviting particularly in the summer when you can sit outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 154943Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute place, right on Great Slave Lake”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food, lovely people. We were not that hungry due to getting food poisoning at a pub here in YK. But we really liked the food and the atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Charming cafe in a beautiful location with great homemade food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Dancing Moose Cafe is a charming cafe with a great view. It's in Old Town Yellowknife, just below the Pilot's Monument and with a back garden looking out over the water. You can sit and admire houseboats or watch the float planes taking off, all while eating great food!
We were a family party of four who came for lunch. Two of us opted for panini sandwiches with home-made soup (two to choose from - potato/leek or tomato/basil). I had the ham and cheese which had delicious cheddar. My husband opted for the roast beef and cheese which he also loved. We both chose the potato-leek soup and our soup was great. My father chose the battered whitefish which he decided to have with soup (french fries were also an option). He loved it and said that the fish was exceptionally fresh and tasty. My mother opted for a chicken caesar wrap with tomato-basil soup which she said was all delicious.
Our service was excellent - friendly and efficient. The cafe also has nice displays of local art and handmade items. I bought a nice pair of earrings made with caribou antler!
Some of our family members stayed at the Bayside Bed and Breakfast which is attached to this cafe and they loved staying there. They also spoke enthusiastically about the wonderful breakfasts that the cafe serves!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Imagine our surprise to find this cafe in Old Town, Yellowknife, where the menu includes local fish & meats, as well as home made compotes. Picture fruit filled crepes with a freshly made rhubarb compote for breakfast, a turkey and brie wrap with crispy sweet potato fries for lunch and char for dinner. Live blues musicians on site on Sunday afternoon.... Amazing staff. To top it all off, thy also rent rooms as the Bayside B&B, right upstairs. A bit rustic, but more authentic Yellowknife than a tall, boring hotel. Located on the shores of Great Slave Lake, we also enjoyed evenings sitting in the chairs watching the boats and bush planes coming by. We have thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Moose Cafe also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Dancing Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing