We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Review of Dancing Moose Cafe

Dancing Moose Cafe
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the ambiance of Old Yellowknife. In summer, dine outside on Yellowknife Bay under the midnight sun. In winter, inside, while checking out the Northern Lights. We are licensed, offer premium coffees & desserts, breakfast, lunch and supper. Open Tuesday to Sunday, 9 AM TO 9 PM.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very fresh food. Very good service. Homemade desserts are delicious! Clean. Pretty atmosphere looking out on the water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    68
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Meal, Slow Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Mom and I walked here from Blue Raven B&B. Our meals were quite good, although they didn't have a surprisingly large amount of things on the menu (and the "breakfast served all day" line isn't true). We waited quite a while for our food, but we weren't in a hurry and enjoyed ourselves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely overhyped”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have tried this restaurant on several occasions because we eat out a lot and are limited on the number of restaurants to eat at in Yellowknife so always give a place a second and third chance. Definitely below par. I think yellowknifers are impressed with less because you don't have very many options. This place down south would go out of business. The panini was not on panini bread and did not have real turkey but sliced sandwich meat. They do not know how to make a hollandaise sauce for the eggs benny. It's runny and oily. The bison burger comes on a grocery store bought burger bun, plain with a little lettuce, tomato, onion. Sweet potato fries were not bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TCU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Not dancing for joy”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I heard this was a good place to eat, and I've been looking forward to going there. I would rather have had some fresh fish, but that was only available from 5 to 9 PM, and I was there in the afternoon. The chowder was definitely homemade, nice chunks of bland vegetables. The quiche was not tall and fluffy, like I'm used to. The crust was not quite done. I added lots of pepper to both, but they still lacked deliciousness.

The place is adorable, there are 9 tables, each with 3 to 4 seats. You get a great view out the windows, so I'm glad I went there even though I won't return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AmeliaAirheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dancing Moose”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Atmosphere is quaint, food is excellent, overlooks the float plane base, friendly staff. Specials are always good, serves breakfast all day saturday and sunday

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Moose Cafe also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Dancing Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing