We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Yellowknife
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The night staff was very unpleasant,rude and unwelcoming !!! Either than the rude staff, the rooms were average, looking a little run down, but clean so at least the housekeepers are doing their part. The breakfast has good variety.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mucks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Yellowknife, General Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and for the information in regards to your frustration during your recent check-in experience. We are addressing the situation and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are pleased to report our recent renovations included all new in-room furnishings, lighting, drapes, triple sheeting, 32" flat screen televisions, as well as hallway/stairwell carpeting, new lobby and breakfast area furnishings, and fresh paint throughout.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nothing is inexpensive in Yellowknife. This is the most expensive Super 8 I have stayed in but it was easier on the wallet than other Yellowknife accommodations.
The front desk staff were young and friendly. (There are a lot of young people in Yellowknife which makes it a fun place to go out in the evening.) There was a trainee so that slowed things down a bit but we didn't mind. The room was basic but clean. The motel is located away from the downtown but that is all of five minutes away. The breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. There is a good laundromat close by.
I would stay here rather than some of the higher priced motels

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Yellowknife . It is a very rewarding feeling when we receieve such positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and i felt secure with the lock doors at night, and break fast was really good

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Yellowknife . It is a very rewarding feeling when we receieve such positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's Yellowknife. This is the best available choice for the money, but it is dated and "barely good enough" compared to anywhere else in the country, basically. It seems like the building is always having mechanical problems, flooding and the like.

On the plus side the breakfast is above average. It is clear the staff work as hard as they can. The only way to fix the situation would be to gut the place and start over which might not be feasible. I will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Yellowknife, General Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of Super 8 Yellowknife.

We are delighted that our recent renovations are now complete! Since Feb 2013 our valued guests have been enjoying a beautiful new atmosphere with brand new room furnishings, lighting, triple sheeting, drapes, and 32" flat screen televisions. In addition, all rooms and public areas have been painted and carpeted, and both the Breakfast Area and Lobby have new furnishings and lighting.

Thank you also for your patience while we recently completed annual work on our mechanical system.

We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a standard Super 8, reliable as ever and offering a good selection of room types. Our group stayed for one night and we were happy with the cleanliness, quality and condition of the rooms. My suite was really quite impressive, large and well appointed. The monstrous bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own though and most of us went from freezing to boiling and back again during the night. A power outage had something to do with that for sure, though. The continental breakfast was good enough in the morning and the hotel boasts one of those cool waffle makers that produce a Belgian-style waffle in 2.5 minutes. It is located right next ta a Timmies, Wal-Mart and close to the airport. There is no tourism or view to speak of right around here, but nothing is really far in Yellowknife and taxis are reasonably priced anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let fellow travelers know about your stay at Super 8 Yellowknife! I am happy you enjoyed your stay and rest assured your comments will be passed on to the rest of the team so that they know we accomplished our goal by making your stay a positive one! We do apologize for the issues with your AC but can assure you these problems have been resolved.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Yellowknife

Address: 308 Old Airport Rd, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 3T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: $137 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing modern flair with frontier-style informality, Super 8 Yellowknife is a 100% non-smoking establishment. We are pleased to offer our valued guests complimentary Continental Breakfast, in-room high speed wireless internet for those guests who provide their own laptop, mini-fridges and microwaves in all rooms, Busines Centre, Fitness Room, free parking with some winter plug-ins, and pet-friendly rooms. Adjacent to Walmart, Tim Horton's and Marks Work Warehouse, you will find numerous restaurants and nature trails within a short walk from the hotel.Stay with us on your next trip to Yellowknife.We're...Friendly. Clean. And Simply Super!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Yellow Knife Hotel Yellowknife
Super Eight Yellowknife
Yellowknife Super 8
Yellowknife Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing