We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base In Yellowknife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Yellowknife
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying for 5 nights at the Super 8 in Yellowknife. I got a really good deal via the Super 8 website, the price being the reason for choosing this hotel over the other downtown hotel options.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes by car or taxi from Yellowknife Airport. Unfortunately, the usual hotel shuttle buses only service the downtown hotels and do not pass the Super 8. The hotel is situated slightly out of the centre about 10 minutes by car or taxi, or a good 20 to 30 minute walk. There is also a bus service that runs hourly (half hourly in the morning and late afternoon) from close by the hotel to downtown. There is a Walmart, Pizza Hut, Subway, and Tim Hortons all located within a few paces of the hotel.

Check-in was fast, friendly, and trouble free. The receptionist realised that I was up in Yellowknife to photograph the Northern Lights during the evenings so found a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevators. Very thoughtful. The only slight noise I heard during the nights was the sound of the snow clearance on the Walmart car park occasionally. Oh, and the friendly raven outside that seemed to have perfected the sound of an alarm clock!

The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and comfortable. There is complimentary wifi covering the whole hotel which is accessed via a username and password supplied at check-in. I was told that wifi was only available in the downstairs breakfast room, but I can confidently say that I was able to carry out internet tasks from the 4th floor all of my time at the hotel. The only minor thing was having to re-enter the username and password each day.

There is free continental breakfast available every day until 10am. This consisted of cereals, toast, bagels, freshly made waffles, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee, and water. A simple but effective spread to start the day. The coffee in the breakfast room is available all day and is always fresh and hot. One word of warning, don't expect any item of breakfast to be visible at one second past 10am. The breakfast lady seems to be VERY organised.

There are other hotels closer to the centre of Yellowknife that seem to be nearer to the action, but that distinction comes with a far higher room price. Also, I found out that the Tim Hortons next to the Super 8 is where the locals seem to meet. Those locals being certain Ice Road Truckers and various Buffalo Airways staff. A good place to spot famous faces, and learn about old aircraft, Ice Roads, and Northern Lights.

I enjoyed my time at the Super 8 and certainly couldn't find another hotel in Yellowknife that offered the outstanding value, free breakfast, free wifi, and cleanliness. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good, but high floors are the quietest. Also the Tim Hortons next door has a 24 hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your kinds words on TripAdvisor which will most definitely be shared with both staff and management of Super 8 Yellowknife. We are glad you enjoyed our SuperStart Breakfast, comfortable rooms, and were fortunate to have had the opportunity to view our magical Aurora Borealis,We look forward to your return visit.

Kimberly Newman
Guest Service Manager
Super 8 Yellowknife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 243 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Other than the duct tape repairs on the particle board furniture the room was fine I guess. The bed had a newish matress which was nice, the room had really old carpet that compelled me to keep my shoes on, enjoyed the very friendly check in, check out was less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JOSHUA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Please know it was extremely disheartening to be so excited only to have an entire truckload of furnishings arrive damaged. As the old furniture had been removed, our only option was to "make do" with duct tape. We are pleased to say all items damaged during transit have since been replaced!

We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel...this has your no frills basics-if you're from the big city, no...Super 8 does not have the same quality as others. That being said, for Yellowknife, it's pretty good.

Pros:
Location-It's by Walmart and Tims which is lovely
Size-I had the king suite-->decent size
TV-I don't know why I care but it's nice to see flat screen TV's
Pet friendly-As a small dog (10lb) owner, it's nice to have a pet friendly hotel
Clean-VERY IMPORTANT. Did find a couple stray hairs on the bedsheets but I suspect this was a cling-on..didn't notice anything else
Heat-Heat worked well and operated as a single unit...I have stayed elsewhere in town where multiple rooms are controlled by one wall unit--not fun.

Cons:
Winter: There are only 8 plug-ins for the entire hotel...I was able to get a plug but I can see people becoming angry (myself included) if I had reserved at $164 a night and had a dead car at -50 in the morning.
Room condition: I was in 104-the suite bedroom door does not close, regardless of how much you try. Also, there was more brown duct tape than I'd like to see in a basic $164 a night room-some on the entertainment unit, some in the bedroom on the tv unit in there as well.

Overall, recommended place to stay. I have stayed several times before and will do so again-clean, comfortable and does exactly what it's meant to do. Hotel staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Pet room (at least the one I was in) was on the ground floor which was great to have with a dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequenttravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your kinds words on TripAdvisor which will most definitely be shared with both staff and management of Super 8 Yellowknife.

During our renovation 85% of our furniture arrived damaged - which would explain the duct tape, it has since been replaced and looks great!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great value for YK, and right next to wallmart and Tim's which is great if you're on a layover and need to pick a few things up without cabing somewhere. Decent basic breakfast included and friendliest front desk staff! $13 dollar drive from the airport one way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Yellowknife . It is a very rewarding feeling when we receieve such positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kimberly Newman
Guest Services Manager
Super 8 Yellowknife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank EDNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a 'no frills' Motel, with all the basics, and my room etc was clean. The service was friendly, even when I arrived at past Mid night due to my flights arrival time.
Breakfast is very basic, but works!
I just needed a place for the night between arriving to Yellow knife and then departing for the mine site, and this fills that purpose well.
Also a very short ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Super 8 Yellowknife on TripAdvisor. Your comments will be shared with both staff and management. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Kimberly Newman
Guest Service Manager
Super 8 Yellowknife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is quite convenient if you don't want to stay in down town.
Rooms are efficient and spacious. The bathroom is clean, they come in every day and clean them and change towels if required.
The staff was always friendly and willing to help.
Continental breakfast is very good and offers a very good variety.
Not a luxury hotel but a great choice for the price in one of the most expensive cities in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly N, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Yellowknife, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Super 8 Yellowknife . It is a very rewarding feeling when we receieve such positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kimberly Newman
Guest Service Manager
Super 8 Yellowknife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.4 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
437 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Yellowknife

Address: 308 Old Airport Rd, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 3T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: $144 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing modern flair with frontier-style informality, Super 8 Yellowknife is a 100% non-smoking establishment. We are pleased to offer our valued guests complimentary Continental Breakfast, in-room high speed wireless internet for those guests who provide their own laptop, mini-fridges and microwaves in all rooms, Busines Centre, Fitness Room, free parking with some winter plug-ins, and pet-friendly rooms. Adjacent to Walmart, Tim Horton's and Marks Work Warehouse, you will find numerous restaurants and nature trails within a short walk from the hotel.Stay with us on your next trip to Yellowknife.We're...Friendly. Clean. And Simply Super!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Yellow Knife Hotel Yellowknife
Super Eight Yellowknife
Yellowknife Super Eight
Yellowknife Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing