We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great birthday dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room

Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our evening. The four of us shared a number of the tapas dishes so we could all order dessert! The lemon pie was excellent but the winner was the chocolate ganache was the hit! We recommend!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonnaopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I took my family out for a fancy family dinner. After reading many high reviews about this restaurant we decided to give it a try. After waiting an hour and a half after placing our order we were surprised to see how small the portions were. There was only one other couple in the restaurant at the time. Prices were extremely high for the quality. We will not be returning. Customer service was sub par and the place was freezing cold. Our suggestion would be to give this place a miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bigBADwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, questionable service & value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've now been 3 or 4 times, with my wife or with business groups. I've always enjoyed the food, although I haven't been able to find any Tapas on the menu. Being in a corner of a shed out the back of downtown, it always feels crowded to me. I like my space. They have had high turnover recently and service has been from poor to terrible - hopefully it is building back up now. I'd probably rate it one step higher if prices were about 75% of what they are.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmuz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Yellowknife but very small space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been here several times and it has always been very good food. Earlier this week I was there with a large group and no one had any complaints about the food. We sampled just about every appetizer and a few of us had entrées. I had the bison and it was great!

The only downside is that when the place is really busy it is virtually impossible to move or hear anyone talking. The service can be very slow and some of the servers are a little rude but, living in Yellowknife, I have come to expect very high prices and poor service.
The lack of space does deter me from agreeing that this is the #1 restaurant but I will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob4562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in Yellowknife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A group of colleagues and I went out for tapas and wine earlier this week at Thornton's and we really enjoyed the experience. The outside of the place is misleading, but inside the atmosphere was very nice and upscale. We had every tampas dish available and they were all delicious. We doubted the "fresh" oysters would be up to snuff, but they were great too. The cheese plate was excellent as well. The wine list was extensive - a little pricey, but hey, you're in Yellowknife not Avenue Road in Toronto (it takes extra $ to ship wine that far).

If you're in Yellowknife, this is definitely a nice spot to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing