We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, questionable service & value”

Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room
Ranked #9 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $37
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, questionable service & value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've now been 3 or 4 times, with my wife or with business groups. I've always enjoyed the food, although I haven't been able to find any Tapas on the menu. Being in a corner of a shed out the back of downtown, it always feels crowded to me. I like my space. They have had high turnover recently and service has been from poor to terrible - hopefully it is building back up now. I'd probably rate it one step higher if prices were about 75% of what they are.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmuz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Yellowknife but very small space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been here several times and it has always been very good food. Earlier this week I was there with a large group and no one had any complaints about the food. We sampled just about every appetizer and a few of us had entrées. I had the bison and it was great!

The only downside is that when the place is really busy it is virtually impossible to move or hear anyone talking. The service can be very slow and some of the servers are a little rude but, living in Yellowknife, I have come to expect very high prices and poor service.
The lack of space does deter me from agreeing that this is the #1 restaurant but I will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob4562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in Yellowknife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A group of colleagues and I went out for tapas and wine earlier this week at Thornton's and we really enjoyed the experience. The outside of the place is misleading, but inside the atmosphere was very nice and upscale. We had every tampas dish available and they were all delicious. We doubted the "fresh" oysters would be up to snuff, but they were great too. The cheese plate was excellent as well. The wine list was extensive - a little pricey, but hey, you're in Yellowknife not Avenue Road in Toronto (it takes extra $ to ship wine that far).

If you're in Yellowknife, this is definitely a nice spot to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is over priced and over rated! The food was mediocre, the service slow, but the prices outrageous. This place was rated #1, which causes me to seriously doubt ratings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“over rated and over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Based on previous reviews we decided to go to this restaurant. What a huge disappointment!!

I now wonder if people who have not gone to this restaurant have actually written the reviews here. I saw a program that showed how people who don't use the product or service actually get paid to write reviews. I hope that this restaurant is not one of these.

We have traveled many places in this world and have found this restaurant one of the worst.

The service was terrible. From the time we came in we had to wait at least 15 minutes before getting the over priced wine and another 15 minutes before we got our tough brusell sprouts that we were expecting to get with our main meal. No one explained the menu to us. Then we waited another 15 minutes before we got our main meal. My husband ordered the bison and I ordered the pork loin. The presentation of either is not what one would expect for what they were charging.

My pork was tough and I could not recognize what else was included in that stew if that was what it was supposed to be.

We basically had to sit for 45 minutes with water not being refilled and no food on our table. We are used to having something on the table (oil and bread or something) before the order is brought to us. Don't expect that here. Go if you want to pay overrated prices for overrated food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pugi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Thornton's Wine & Tapas Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing