We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit”

Northern Frontier Visitors Center
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the Visitor Information for Yellowknife and our immediate surrounding communities. We recommend you visit us at the beginning of your trip. We are prepared to counsel on all that our beautiful city has to offer. All visitors, are encouraged to sign our guest book and we offer a free Welcome to Yellowknife Pin. We also sell a certificate which states you have crossed the 60th parallel. We are experts on Aurora forecasting and space weather prediction and we are here to ensure your Aurora experience is truly breathtaking! WE ARE CURRENTLY IN THE PROCESS OF MOVING TO A NEW LOCATION AT THE PRINCE OF WALES HERITAGE MUSEUM. WE WILL BE MOVED OVER AND READY TO OPERATE AS OF JUNE 1ST. We look forward to welcoming you.
Greenwood, NS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped by to attempt a geocache, the staff were AMAZING. The swag is second to none in YK. the Aurora Borealis/Norther Lights simulator is very cool.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank teamnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    109
    30
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full of information and wildlife displays.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lots of information on area attractions and the city of Yellowknife.

They have a gift shop and many wildlife displays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Palombaro5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I know not everyone wants to stop at the "visitors' center" when they visit an unfamiliar location, assuming that all you get there is the sanitized view. But this center has some things that make it worth the stop: a good interactive display of how the Aurora works, a decent timeline of the region's history, and a nice exhibit of diamond mining and polishing tools and processes....a better one, in fact, than the exhibit at the diamond company headquarters.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great info from super nice staff!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We walked in without any expectations, but staff was super friendly and gave us a ton of information with a map and the Yellowknife pin. :) There's also an interactive big screen teaching you about aurora, and a little exhibit about culture and wildlife at the end. You can actually walk there from downtown!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CF8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stop here first”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Unfortunately I didn't stop by until my last day in town. There is a lot of information and the staff are very helpful. The layout is very different and offers both informative displays and artwork. I saw some Ptarmigans just outside the building which was a first for me. I suggest coming here on your arrival to find out just how much there really is to do in Yellowknife and around the territory. I guess I will have to come back now.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PMW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Frontier Visitors Center also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Northern Frontier Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing