We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than an Infocentre”

Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Frontier Visitor Center as of Oct. 01st 2017 - is no longer providing Visitor Services.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This centre looks and feels like a museum and art gallery and has knowledgable staff that can keep visitors busy for days. In my opinion, it should be the first stop on every Yellowknife visit.

2  Thank travelinjack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFVCStaff, Front Office Manager at Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hey, I just wanted to thank you for the great review! I enjoyed reading your reviews of local restaurants and hope you'll be back in the north soon to try more of our (admittedly variable in quality) local food! I wouldn't mind reading what you think of the Dancing Moose Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 514 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Make sure you book the whole day to visit the center. Reading about the history of the north was interesting and educational.

Thank catrvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFVCStaff, Front Office Manager at Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

I'm glad you had such a good time checking out our facility! I'm a history buff myself so it's always a treat when someone takes such an interest in local history and culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Centre is well laid out - had a good time.......................................................................................

Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Improvment in the displays, but the staff could be a little more helpful especially with the hands on displays. Lighting is too dark.

Thank YellowDogLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFVCStaff, Front Office Manager at Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed the new displays! We are aware that lighting is poor, and are currently in the process of acquiring the funding for LED lighting to replace the admittedly dated lighting system currently in use in the building.

Our staff does not typically provided guided tours of the facility; the reason for this is because our primary responsibility is to provide tourism information, so we can't risk leaving the front desk and phones unattended in order to guide people through the facility. However, we are happy to answer any questions about the displays that a visitor might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Watched a video on the diamond mines that was very interesting and informative. The gift shop provided lots of nice souvenirs. There were very nice packets boxed up with much info regarding the area. A good place to start your visit to the area.

Thank Lyn49006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing