We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”

Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Frontier Visitor Center as of Oct. 01st 2017 - is no longer providing Visitor Services.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Friendly, interesting and good source for more information. There is an exhibit in the rear with hands on information. There are fun NWT memorabilia for sale (books, t-shirts, toys and postcards). The people who work there are very helpful.

1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"first stop"
in 33 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 24 reviews
"visitor center"
in 27 reviews
"free parking pass"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 24 reviews
"great place to start"
in 6 reviews
"right direction"
in 6 reviews
"local information"
in 5 reviews
"great information"
in 5 reviews
"prince of wales"
in 10 reviews
"for sale"
in 9 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 5 reviews
"in town"
in 15 reviews
"polar bear"
in 7 reviews
"explorer hotel"
in 5 reviews
"northern lights"
in 14 reviews
"aurora borealis"
in 7 reviews
Filter

403 - 407 of 523 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a great morning here on a rainy day learning about Yellowknife and the NWT. A great place for finding out about tours and adventures.

Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just a souvenir shop - at the airport with no deals. Great if you want Reality TV paraphenalia like Ice Road Truckers and Buffalo Air trinkets. Also a great place to spend a few hundred bucks on neo-native "handrafted" items.

Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFVCStaff, Front Office Manager at Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility! One clarification; though the Discover North Gift Shop at the airport is managed by the Northern Frontier Visitors Association, it isn't the same as our Visitors' Centre (the facility that you reviewed). Though we don't often have clearances or discounts at our airport gift shop location, we do strive to keep our prices both competitive and fair for our member businesses, so we try to keep our prices on par with any other locations where the same goods are available locally. Many of the goods we sell are actually handcrafted, though we also carry some factory-made "mock handcrafted" products. The goal is to carry items that will interest people shopping at all price ranges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The vistors' centre is a must stop in Yellowknife. It is located on Frame Lake - literally and walking between it, the Legislative Assembly and Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre makes for a nice walk. The centre is very well designed and has a lot of information and displays on local history and culture.

Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Informative place and there is a high tech interactive aurora borealis stations that is worth the visit in itself. There could be more locally made items however

Thank Rondy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFVCStaff, Front Office Manager at Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We're glad you liked Astronomy North's AuroraMAX display! It's a personal favorite of the staff, nd is a prototype for that type of motion-sensitive display!

We've been working hard to expand our inventory to include more locally handcrafted items, so hopefully we'll have more gift shop items that might interest you next time you drop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Frontier Visitors' Centre also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing