We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss that place!”
Review of Blue Raven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowknife
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Raven B&B
Ranked #15 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I miss that place!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We're a family of 3 and stayed there for almost 1 week.
We were stunned by the tasteful way that Tessa decorated her house, with souvenirs and arts collected in her entire life living among the Northern community. Discovering all the stories and the culture behind her souvenirs was amazing and added something of magic to our trip, it was a plus that we would never imagine.
Tessa is the sweetest hostess we’ve met ever. She knows the region very well and gave us great tips about things to do, specially places to see the aurora less than 3 minutes away.
The rooms are small but have very confortable beds. From the porch you have a wonderful view of the bay, and it’s also possible to see auroras from there, despite a little light pollution. It is also great for sunsets views.
This B&B is located in the old town about 20 minutes walking from downtown, which was perfect to us for the tranquility and for the nearness of the Great Slave Lake.
If necessary, there’s a bus line serving to downtown.
There’s a restriction for use of water not only in this B&B, but the whole old town due to the water distribution system, so guests are reminded to take short showers, which we did accordingly as it was not a big deal for us.
The delicious breakfast is prepared by Tessa at the time scheduled by us previously, and it’s served in nice porcelain made by herself. When it was necessary to have breakfast later than scheduled, we just had to advise her the night before.
All her attention to guests and the ambiance made us feel at home.
The price was very reasonable, not different of what we use to pay in other cities. I would not only recommend, but also come back with my family and stay longer.

Room Tip: Just a few rooms, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaB_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRaven37, Owner at Blue Raven B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. It's so wonderful to share our love of the North with the guests we meet at the B&B. And when they enjoy it, nothing pleases us more !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My daughter and I stayed there for 5 days during our aurora hunting trip. Not much privacy as the owner is always around, even slept in the room next to ours with her door open all 5 nights.,,,very creepy. The rooms are very,very small with no TV. and showers were restricted to 5 min because of water issues in that part of town. and internet access was limited to emails.
Tessa did go to the trouble of making super breakfasts...I felt badly because after going to bed around 5am there was no way I was getting up at 10 to eat anything, she was quite offended when I said I did not want breakfast.
This bed and breakfast would have been ok for a couple of days but for longer stays I would go to a hotel where there is more privacy.

Room Tip: There is no room service or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sil007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRaven37, Owner at Blue Raven B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are pleased to share our simple, honest, home-stay style atmosphere with guests at our B&B. Perhaps you were ill-informed because, as you point out – there is no room service; nor is there a pool, not in any hotel in Yellowknife .

Internet is freely provided for emails, surfing + skype, otherwise I ask that guests not stream movies from the internet as it is so expensive and I want to keep costs down. And we do ask guests to be mindful of water restrictions in the Old Town as we are on trucked water delivery.

I always try to accommodate guests, many of which are up all night to see aurora, so be it 7am or noon, we can discuss an appropriate time for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Blue Raven B&B for 3 nights. It’s a comfortable, cozy house with tasteful art and photo collection everywhere. Tessa, the hostess who always wears a welcoming smile, gave us the privacy but was always there when we needed to ask for information. Blue Raven is located in the old town overlooking the Yellowknife Bay. The neighborhood is scenic, quiet and safe (they even do not lock the front door). Tessa told us that it is possible to view active aurora right on the porch due to the low light pollution. And she did take some amazing aurora pictures in front of the house. And how could I not say something about the yummy breakfast. We requested high fiber, low fat, low sugar breakfast via email beforehand, and we were treated with fruit juice, whole grain bread, perfectly pouched eggs, homemade granola, crispy bacon, fresh fruits, yogurt, arctic char and even edible flower (poor pretty thing), on top of a variety of jam, butter, peanut butter, coffee and tea. The best part is that we could request to have breakfast at 11 am after staying up all night for aurora viewing. Yellowknife is expensive. Considering the comfortable accommodation and hearty breakfast, Blue Raven B&B is a steal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatmuimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRaven37, Owner at Blue Raven B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a passion for the North and its beauty so we try to help others experience that as well. Yes we do live in a quiet + safe neighbourhood but (and I smile) we never-the-less have a policy of locking the door and providing guests with keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My co-guide and I stayed here for three nights prior to our wilderness canoe trip. Excellent hospitality and breakfast.Tessa was always very helpful and accommodating to our needs be it early breakfast, storage of food in small fridge and freezer, and full of advice on local services. Other guests and Tessa were wonderful company in a relaxed yet professional setting. A quiet and peaceful stay. We were aware of the excellent reputation and it is fully deserved! Recommend without hesitation. A popular place so book early!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Blue Raven for 5 days in July 2012. The location (away from downtown) is ideal. We often watched float planes taking off form the nearby lake. There is a small grocery store 5 min away on foot and downtown is 20 min on foot, both an easy walk. A small fridge was available, and we ate most of our meals on the deck or in the dining room. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and we found the room excellent. The owner was very kind and was an excellent resource for exploring the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were made very welcome, including being allowed to take over the lounge/dining area, and heat up soup in the kitchen when we didn't want to go out for dinner. We were loaned warm hats etc, suitable to the climate. We were invited to local events and made to feel part of the community, even though we were only there for a week.
The house is in a picturesque part of town, but a decent walk (or bus or taxi) to the main part of town.
Overall, very comfortable and very friendly and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed at the Blue Raven B&B in mid-January 2012. What a great place! Friendly and helpful owners, great food, comfy bed, really nice location in old town with a bus stop right outside the door.

Nancy H.
Canmore, Alberta

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.4 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
416 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Yellowknife
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Raven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Raven B&B

Property: Blue Raven B&B
Address: 37 Otto Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Raven Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing