We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Blue Raven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowknife
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Raven B&B
Ranked #14 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were made very welcome, including being allowed to take over the lounge/dining area, and heat up soup in the kitchen when we didn't want to go out for dinner. We were loaned warm hats etc, suitable to the climate. We were invited to local events and made to feel part of the community, even though we were only there for a week.
The house is in a picturesque part of town, but a decent walk (or bus or taxi) to the main part of town.
Overall, very comfortable and very friendly and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed at the Blue Raven B&B in mid-January 2012. What a great place! Friendly and helpful owners, great food, comfy bed, really nice location in old town with a bus stop right outside the door.

Nancy H.
Canmore, Alberta

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Raven Bed and Breakfast in June, 2011. We didn't have any earlier recommendation to go on. It was through our own research online that we choose this B&B, in part because it was located at a high point on Latham Island (the old part of YK) with beautiful views of Great Slave Lake.

We were pleasantly surprised to discover a B&B that we will definitely return to on future trips to Yellowknife. The hosts made us feel right at home and we enjoyed staying with people that have lived most of their life up north. Tessa is a photographer and we found her work at the Prince of Wales Museum.

The room was comfortable and quiet with a shared bathroom. Breakfasts were hearty with a wonderful view of Great Slave Lake from the dining and living rooms. Tessa helped us out with suggestions for key attractions and how to plan our 5-day visit. During special events and activities for National Aboriginal Day, I tried my hand at carving caribou bone and love it so much that Tessa gave me a piece of bone to take home so I could continue my hand at bone carving. Very thoughtful.

Overall, it was a fabulous stay and I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Yellowknife and have as nice an experience.

Catherine Wilde (Ottawa)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights during Dec 24 and Dec 28 in Blue Raven. This B&B is in old town, and we took TAXI to downtown (5 mins drive and about $10) and airport ($22). The house has lake-view in the living room, so we can see some “free” aurora at home (although it’s not as good as the aurora viewing tour). The owner Tessa has lived in yellowknife for 35 yrs as photographer (can find her work/photos at Yellowknife prince of whales museum). When we arrived, Tessa mapped the B&B, several restaurants and museum for us, which is really nice and helpful. Since we didn’t bring warm pants there, Tessa provided us 2 ski-pants and lots of socks, which save us some money for cloth rental. The room is pretty quiet and clean. 3 rooms share 1 bathroom, but need to save the usage of water/internet. Blue Rave is the place I highly recommend: the price is very reasonable compared other hotels (everything in Yellowknife is not cheap) and people here are very nice and helpful !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uuuyouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I read reviews for a number of hotels/B&Bs in Yellowknife, and decided on the Blue Raven. They have the best prices around and you'll wonder why they don't charge more! (Seriously!) The B&B boasts comfortable rooms, mouth-watering breakfasts, accommodating hosts, tons of local information and spectacular views of Great Slave Lake. And when it's cold outside, you can curl up in front of the fireplace with a good book and a cup of tea. Heaven! The rooms are very quiet which is important to me because I'm a light sleeper.

If you come to Yellowknife and want to feel like you're visiting family, stay at The Blue Raven! Hell, it's BETTER than family! Tessa greets you in the morning with a smile and hot coffee. My family grunts and rolls their eyes at me! :-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTGnNWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2003

Great place, cool service, nice people, been all around the world, over the years.... this is an excellent, quiet, home away from home

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.4 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
416 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Yellowknife
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Narwal B&B
Narwal B&B
#7 of 23 in Yellowknife
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blachford Lake Lodge
Blachford Lake Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yellowknife
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Raven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Raven B&B

Property: Blue Raven B&B
Address: 37 Otto Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blue Raven Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing