We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/29/21
Trip.com
$161
$130
View deal
SAVE $31
Hotels.com$136
Priceline$161
eDreams$161
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
198
292
112
19
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
198
292
112
19
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polar bear front desk staff excellent hotel shoppers drug mart old town business trip rooms are clean free airport shuttle arctic char close to downtown visiting yellowknife bed was very comfortable enjoyed my stay aurora borealis explorer lounge grill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 648 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2020

The hotel is close to the city core, close to the Prince of Wales museum. Main entrance has huge polar bear display. Staff represent cultural diversity which is very important. Great main restaurant, Trader's Grill, nice bar and wonderful luxurious rooms. We had deluxe king bed room, it was very comfortable, clean and luxurious. Great views on the North side.
The room provides a nice thick robe, and towels.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestYellowknifeHotel, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Dear Brian B

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

We arrived at the airport at 12:30 and we did not arrive at our hotel until 2:30 due to the hotel complimentary transportation service taking an incredible 2 hours to get us less than 15 to the hotel . They knew we were arriving too by the way. We called them and for a half hour they did NOT answer their phones. We nearly missed the people who are providing our rental gear. I told the clerk at the front desk and she more or less really didn’t express any regret other than we were annoying. Last year we stayed at a much better place and so far I would not recommend this place.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SonnyR965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestYellowknifeHotel, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Dear Sonny

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your opinion is highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

.
regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

The Explorer is a good hotel in a near town centre location. The restaurant has a broad array of excellent dishes, many of which highlight northern cuisine—Arctic char, bison, and so on. Staff is friendly and efficient. Minor gripes: our room was a bit too warm, and the exercise room is showing some wear and tear. Overall a great spot with some real NWT feel.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kayasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestYellowknifeHotel, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your opinion is highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We are look forward to seeing you again soon.



regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights as part of a trip to a lodge outside of Yellowknife. Room was comfy but nothing special. There was no bottled water or minibar in the room, but there’s a Shoppers Drug Mart just across the street (which we didn’t know at first). Their restaurant and bar was quite good and service was excellent. Their gym was also surprisingly large. Best part was it’s location though - walkable distance from pretty much everything. I would go back if I ever have to be in Yellowknife again!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank MarsTheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestYellowknifeHotel, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

I would like to thank you for your visit with us and your wonderful review. We are certainly proud of what we have here and I am glad to hear that we were able to help with the issue you did have. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2020

Have stayed here a couple times, for work and pleasure. The staff is welcoming and will try and meet any need you may have. Found they were helpful with local knowledge of the area as well. Rooms have all the amenities, close enough to walk downtown, the views of the City are great. Restaurant is a little pricey but the food is fantastic. Have not stayed since they added on and renovated.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S4074TAlisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestYellowknifeHotel, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews