We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Explorer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$178
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Fraser Tower(Yellowknife)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellow Dog Lodge(Yellowknife)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Discovery Inn(Yellowknife)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
135
235
92
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
235
92
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom serviceprince of walesin towncomfortable hotelnorthern heritage centrefront desk staffshoppers drug martvisitor centerpolar beararctic charexcellent hotelfree airport shuttleplace to staywould definitely stay here againframe lakerooms are cleannorthern lights
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 486 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip and definitely can only say good things about this hotel. The check-in was fast and all the staff including cleaners were all very friendly. The room was clean and in good shape, and I didn't hear a sound from neighbouring rooms which is usually my biggest problem in other hotels, but here it was no problem at all. The restaurant that belongs to the hotel is also really good, and they have a nice breakfast menu. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I can definitely recommend the top floor, it was as quiet as it gets.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Until next time,

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently visited Yellowknife for a conference and we were booked into this hotel. Everything was great. Very quick check in and staff were quite friendly. I had a beautiful view from my room. Beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was spacious. Nice touch with the chocolate on my pillow the first night too. We had a very nice breakfast buffet each day and had dinner in the restaurant one evening that was very good. Staff easily managed our group of 50. Internet access was reliable and included with the room. Easy walking into town and lots of trails nearby to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Until then,

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first trip to Yellowknife, and this hotel is well located, has a good restaurant, and is very pleasant. The room was good, spacious, and had a good internet service included. Everything a business hotel should be. It isn't modern, and the windows are a bit small, but has been nicely maintained and can be recommended for any stays in the city

Room Tip: They offer smoking and non-smoking. Mine was the latter
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel during your visit to Yellowknife. We take pride in our hospitality and we're delighted you enjoyed all the services offered on property.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Until then

Karl H. Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In Yellowknife for work, meeting hotel was the Explorer. Fairly standard hotel (apart from the 10' stuffed polar bear in the lobby), wireless worked well, great view over the town from my room on the 8th floor. Staff helpful and friendly. Insisted on re-stocking the coffee in room with decaf which was unfortunate..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and for sharing your comments with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit at the Explorer Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes,

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Location no. 2 during the Canada trip was Yellowknife and the Explorer Hotel is the place to go.
A pleasant experience by Canadian North and the classic 737-200 Combi plane was the way to reach Yellowknife. A free shuttle is offered, called the hotel by the public phone from the airport and waited, waited, waited till a second call and it seems something goes wrong, the shuttle arrived, but the driver doesn´t know something about our request. Well, it was in the late morning and the airport is an interesting place with all that special planes coming and going, ok so far.
A nice welcome from the young woman at the desk, the room, top floor as requested is ready and that´s finally good for us. Well maintained, spacious, clean and a nice view for the lakes.
KFC is down the street and also a recently opened supermarket.
WLAN is free and works with a good connection.
The tourist office is around the next corner where they offer crusier bikes for free, now that´s something for us and well recommended to have a ride around town and the lakes.
A well nights sleep, no noise and ready for breakfast. Not on the rate, 15.00 Dollars is ok in the end with the offers. Late checkout is also granted with the shuttle running as scheduled this time.
The usual question for the downsides?. Not the hotels fault, but to see all these alcohol addicted local people enjoying the warm weather outdoor also around the hotel is for sure something special and not in a positive way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Explorer Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your travels to the area and thank you for including us in your travel plans.

We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to review your comments with the bus shuttle company. We value all of our guests.



Mit freundlichen Gruessen aus Yellowknife

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews