We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts and great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The B&B is located lake-side with beautiful views. The hosts, John and Debbie are wonderful and welcoming. We stayed for 4 days and had a great time watching aurora every night. We even saw beautiful display of the aurora off the sun-room deck! The food at the Dancing Moose cafe is great. The staff there are very pleasant.
Across the street is a glass shop where one can join their workshop to make your own souvenir!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
36
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed (in three rooms) for the first week of September. Location was great - easy walk to town & local attractions, but most of all the view overlooking Great Slave Lake was outstanding - the back yard was a great location for aurora viewing - which we saw on 6 nights! Rooms are larger than they appear on the website; all were very clean and well appointed. The lounge was a great place for us to gather as a family & it was nice to have access to the fridge, kettle etc. Breakfast was superb every day - don't miss the Arctic Char Eggs Benedict! Air Tindi seaplane activity was good entertainment too.

We took a wonderful day hike & picnic to Cameron Falls; went on a fantastic fishing charter with Greg from Bluefish Services (located nearby); visited the Prince of Wales Museum; toured around town; ate at the iconic Bullocks Bistro & Wildcat Cafe. It was a truly wonderful week!

Thank you Bayside for providing us with your hospitality.

Room Tip: Northern Lights Suite on the main floor has direct outside access to a covered deck - great to nip o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My two buddies and I took a motorcycle trip to Yellowknife this spring and stayed at Bayside. It was the nicest place we stayed on the whole ride from California. We stayed in the cabin by the water it worked perfectly for us. The gourmet breakfast that we ordered off the restaurant menu was nearly worth the cost of the stay. John and Deb run a great B & B and Restaurant.
John Mills
Nevada City, CA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Yellowknife and stayed at the Bayside B&B. We had a very nice experience. Our room was the ensuite including bathroom and shower (Willows). Very clean and nice. The bathroom was new and fresh. We enjoyed meeting John and Deb, the hosts, who were very helpful and friendly. This was a great place to catch the aurora, because it is right on the lake (Great Slave), and we could see if the aurora was up from their common room on the second floor, and then gear up and go out on the lake with our camera equipment in the middle of the night. Then we let ourselves back in when we were finished. Also, very convenient to shops and restaurants in Old Town. The attached Dancing Moose cafe was very good too, and the breakfasts were wonderful. Can't wait to come back!

Andrew Fair

Room Tip: Willows was good with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great view of the auroras and prime location. The breakfast was great in the morning as well, a lot to choose from. The owner was very accommodating and even let us borrow their tripod to take pictures. The beds were not very comfortable though and there is not much privacy because the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Don't go expecting 5 star rooms and comfort, but the hospitality and and location is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janicetran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a week at the Bayside during the spring equinox this year and I'm sending this note to express my thanks & appreciation to all the staff. I was travelling solo and was made to feel very welcome. Giselle and Carole went out of their way to attend to the needs of all their guests, and the B&B tself, in a very friendly and cordial manner. They are true service providers. I have an orthopedic bed at home and I had some concerns about sleeping in any other bed. I had no problem at all sleeping in the 'Midnight Sun'. i was lucky to be able to view the aurora for several nights right from the balcony. Their location right on the bay is far enough away from the city lights to affrord a great view. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. A very clean and comfortable place to stay with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 48Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our group with six persons stayed at Bayside B&B for four nights, the location of Bayside is the better place to view Aurora in town, and we can saw Aurora just walk out to the gardens.
And, the breakfast is excellent.
Bayside B&B is our sweet home, without your help and kindness; we can’t have such a wonderful Aurora
Thank you so much John & Debbie.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.1 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blachford Lake Lodge
Blachford Lake Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yellowknife
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3505 McDonald Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2H2, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Great Slave Lake, great location for winter Aurora viewing, summer canoeing and kayaking - and as s year-round base for sporty and adventurous activities. Recently renovated. Fully functional cafe located on ground floor. In the heart of Yellowknife's historic and eclectic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Bed And Breakfast And Dancing Moose Cafe
Bayside b&b And Dancing Moose Cafe Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing