We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one should miss meeting Carlos and hear his campfire stories”

Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures
Ranked #2 of 17 Tours in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer half days and full day excursions, winter and summer. Winter activities, snowmobiling, dog sledding, aurora viewing on Great Slave Lake. Summer activities, trophy pike fishing, boat tours, Great slave lake dinner cruises and more...We deliver very personalized professional guiding services.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage
1 review
“No one should miss meeting Carlos and hear his campfire stories”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed and Carlos was personable. Took interest in us and helped us to get some amazing shots. Thank you Carlos happy new year

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pokiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    17
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Carlos is Awesome!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family of 4 (boys 10 and 15) recently returned from a 2-day custom tour with Carlos. Day one: we did the Ice highway and city tour, which was great. It was really informative. Carlos gave us lots of suggestions on things to do and places to eat, etc. He then took us back to his shop to fit us for our snowmobiling gear for the Aurora Borealis Viewing that we would do with him that evening. We kept the very warm clothing with us for the duration of our trip. He provided us with boots, gloves, a thin balaclava, helmet with face shield, snow pants and really warm jackets. He suggested we bring our own hat, extra glove liners are a good idea as well. The only thing we didn’t keep for our daytime activities was the snow helmet which is another reason you want to bring your own hat. We had very cold conditions (-52 with wind chill and that was before we started up the snow machines). The only part of my body that felt any cold was my fingers and toes. I would recommend hand warmers for the snow mobile ride. We had a great viewing of the Northern Lights our first night. Carlos is an amazing host. It felt like we had been invited out for the weekend to hang out with a friend at his cabin and watch some lights. He had snacks and warm drinks. He had a roaring fire inside the cabin, washroom facilities for the ladies, and even helped people try to get cameras set for great photos. It was a small English speaking group which was also nice. You don’t always get that with other tour operators in Yellowknife. Many cater to Japanese tourists.

Day two: we did a “you-drive” dog sledding tour and another evening of Aurora Borealis. The dog sledding trip was only arranged by Carlos, he does not guide or attend. I would skip that for sure in hindsight. We were picked up on time and transported to Beck’s kennels, which is supposedly one of the best, but we did not have a great experience there. We had prior dog-sledding experience with Mad Dog and Englishmen in Dead Man’s Flats (Banff region) which I would recommend if you are interested in doing that. It was way better. At Beck’s they didn’t speak to us at all. The people working there barely spoke English, again catering to the Japanese crowd. There was no instruction and no one out with you while you were riding. The dogs would just stop running and you sit there until one of the support snow mobile guys showed up to get them moving again.

The second evening of Northern Lights viewing was great as well. Our kids (10 and 15) may have gotten a little bored the second day of viewing the lights but Carlos entertained them with card tricks and snacks. He is an awesome guide. Both kids said they enjoyed the second night more than the first. We are thinking of another trip to Yellowknife maybe in the summer  where we will try a fishing excursion/aurora borealis tour with Carlos. He’s number one of Tripadvisor for a reason!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo_Lo_20120405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great winter adventures”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Carlos put together a 4-day custom package for us over the holidays in December 2013. We were able to go off on our own (hiking) for a couple of days, and do organized tour stuff the other two days. Carlos provided us outdoor clothes, lodging, and air travel, gave us a tour of the city, took us out to his cabin for aurora viewing, and fed us a variety of interesting meat products (teriyaki muskox meatballs, buffalo chorizo, etc.) We expected this to be fun, but it ended up being one of the best trips of our lives. Thanks, Carlos!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great fun and great people”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went snowmobiling with Yellowknife outdoor adventures had a great time Carlos our guide was great and tookus onan amazing trip round Great Slave Lake . Would recommend them as a great company to go with and great people who know their stuff

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Carlos is the best!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent 4 days in Yellowknife and cannot say enough great things about Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures! I was there with my two kids, 13 and 15, and despite -30F, had a blast. Carlos put together a super list of activities as well as 3 aurora viewings and true winter arctic gear for us to stay warm. Driving over the Great Slave Lake on a snowmobile at 1a with the auroras overhead was magical. Thanks Carlos for making this Xmas so special for us! Henda

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sailtime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing