We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Adventure”

Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures
Ranked #2 of 17 Tours in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer half days and full day excursions, winter and summer. Winter activities, snowmobiling, dog sledding, aurora viewing on Great Slave Lake. Summer activities, trophy pike fishing, boat tours, Great slave lake dinner cruises and more...We deliver very personalized professional guiding services.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Nova Scotia
1 review
“Fishing Adventure”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently our family made a first trip to Yellowknife. Carlos took us out on an 8 hour boat trip searching for Northern Pike. We shared the boat with 2 other fishers and everyone caught some great fish. I caught 2 fish over 40inches - a 42 inch and a 44 inch Pike, as well as a number of Pike over 30 inches. My daughter (17 yrs old) was proud to land a 42.5 inch Pike.

Carlos practices catch and release, and handles the fish himself to ensure they are not injured. The hooks are barbless to reduce any mouth injury. These practices help ensure a sustainable long term fishery and will allow you the pleasure of landing the fish I caught next year.

At mid-day we travelled to a secluded island with a rock shelf margin and Carlos prepared a shore lunch with whitefish. The meal was great.

Overall a great northern experience , fairly priced with a knowledgeable and personable guide.

Recommended without reservation

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don80g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    17
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome day fishing!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Outdoor adventures took my boyfriend and I out for a day of fishing despite the fact that two people cancelled and they usually take 4 people minimum. It was a fantastic 6 hours including a great shore lunch, all homemade. Carlos made sure we had appropriate rain gear, just in case, and he was an excellent teacher for a new casting technique I did not know. I would recommend Outdoor Adventures for anyone looking for an outdoor experience in Yellowknife. Yah!! For 36 inch Northern Pike!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carlos is by far the best guy to put you on trophy fish.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Cought more fish than can count. Most well over 30".
40" my biggest but it got dwarfed by my wife's 43" monster. All the newbies to fishing got trophies !!!

Helpful?
Thank PeteLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Yellowknife is an absolute treat for anyone, even mildly interested in experiencing Northern Canada. Carlos from Yellowknife outdoor adventures is a true outdoors man who illuminated me with an in depth knowledge of the way of life of the Northwest territories. Had excellent view of the Aurora Borealis, the snow mobile excursions to, and back from the remote cottage is definitely something to brag about. Enjoyed the dog sledding trips through the Grace lake as well.
Be prepared for the extreme cold in Winter, it is great that they provide winter gear which helps to keep out the frost. Found food and day to day stuff quite pricey

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank vinsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A truely memorable experience - don't miss this!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I can't rate this trip highly enough - Carlos is fantastic!

Carlos picked us up from our hotel, drove us back to his place, checked our clothing and swapped what he thought wasn't good enough for some of his top quality gear.
He gave us full, clear, concise instructions on using the machines, what we would be doing, and what not to do - full safety instructions.

We skidoed out onto the lake and around the local area, through woods and tree-lined pathes, across humps and bumps, crossing the ice road, to his cabin on the lake.
Amazing, amazing place. An awesome trip of a lifetime. Carlos took our camera and took more than enough, excellent photos of us all along the trail - returning our cameras for us to snap away at the cabin, while he served us up snacks (home made Musk-Ox meatballs with BBQ sauce) and home made hot chocolate, in front of the roaring log stove. Then after we had relaxed and warmed up and taken a whole bunch of pictures, we drove back - 21 miles round trip in all.

The trip was so good, Carlos was so friendly and knowlegable, the experience was so fantastic, I very nearly booked to go again two days later!
Incredible value for money, impecable service, amazingly trust-worthy and informative.

I would urge anyone going to Yellowknife to take a trip with Carlos and his company - they beat the opposition by miles.

Thank you Carlos - we'll never forget our frozen Slave lake skido tour with you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Yellowknife Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing