We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery; lousy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Breeze Motel and Cottages
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister, her partner and I reserved a cabin for a weekend. We live in and around Dartmouth but were taking in a concert at the Shore Club in Hubbards and wanted to make a weekend of it. The cabin itself and amenities were okay for our purposes, but given the rates, we expected a lot more. Facilities could use some updating, and charging $2 for use of the BBQ is just chintzy. The big problem though was how we were treated by the staff (or owners). I've come to expect a lot more warmth, friendliness and willingness to help as this is how most folks in this business in NS are. Apparently the message hasn't yet reached the Bay Breeze. Too bad...the setting, even with the road noise, is breathtaking...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrasserunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Despite the location right on the water, I would not recommend this hotel. The property is very outdated. The room appeared not to have been touched in decades. The towels and sheets were worn. The rooms smelled musty. The ceiling fan barely turned. The hot water ran out every time we showered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We checked in, and 5 minutes later we checked out. Owners were understanding, gave full refund. The rooms have not been updated since 1970, I think the sheets on the bed were about that old also. And the room rate was as much as your standard chain hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank golfer09Sask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were here with many family members because of the proximity of a wedding. The location was wonderful, ocean-side, treed on historic St. Margaret's Bay. Even though the owners did their best to make the stay special, the facility showed that it was badly lacking routine maintenance. Carpets were old and smelly, floors and walls showed signs of water leaking in, some windows didn't open, others didn't lock. The grounds were cluttered with dead vehicles and boats. Empties were left from previous guests' stays. It was obvious that the owners were tired of taking care of the place. Unfortunate as it has the potential of being a beautiful little spot. If you are just here to sleep, OK, but don't plan on spending any other much quality time. We did enjoy the pool even though it required cleaning and the deck on the ocean-side cabins were great but one of the sets of stairs to the ground was missing. If someone has fallen and injured themselves it could have been tragic and the owners' were leaving themselves open to a terrible liability. The cabins also had a modestly equipped kitchenette so we did have some nice family breakfasts there. Much nicer places were nearby but the prices were much higher as well. It did not advertise Wifi or TV and there was none. We would probably spend the extra money and stay at a slightly better place next time.

Room Tip: The ocean-side cabins are kinda neat but if you can see the facility before you book, do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TwoTravellinGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The property on the ocean.is very beautiful, but their "standard" room was very sub-standard! The carpet was not vacuumed and very dirty. The bathroom floor was very dirty with long dark hairs all over the floor. The bathroom flooring was in very bad condition with cracks and black marks all over it. There was dirt in the sink and tub area, and the night table and clock radio were covered with thick dust. No ice was available in motel, no coffee in room, and only 3 stations available on TV. Blankets and pillows were old and in need of replacement. More towel racks were needed in bathroom. One washcloth was so flimsy you could see through it., and the toilet paper was also extremely flimsy.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and check it for cleanliness before you agree to take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Mart7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Breeze Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Motel and Cottages

Address: 6970 St Margarets Bay Rd, Boutiliers Point, Nova Scotia B3Z 1W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Boutiliers Point
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boutiliers Point
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bay Breeze Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing