We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2013. We are originally from Nova Scotia, but moved away 10 years ago. We have lots of family still in the area, and were looking for a "home base", so that we could easily travel around the area, visiting our family and friends. The location was fantastic! It couldn't have been more convenient. It was close enough to go back and forth to the city, but far enough away that at nighttime, you felt that you were in a different world! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The cottage was beautiful, and fully stocked with games for the family to play! The beach was great, and although the water was cold, it didn't stop my husband or son from hunting for crabs. We had a fire every night in the fire-pit, and enjoyed looking at the stars, and relaxing in the peace and quiet. We left feeling well rested and rejuvenated. Larinda's Landing was a great find! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited for 4 nights in mid-August, 2013. The service could not have been better. On site and very attentive. Provided useful information about the area and noticed that the grill had lost a handle, so a whole new one was brought it. Nice protected area for our small dog to walk in.

Downside was the shower, which was so small it was not real easy to turn around in (and I am a 150 lb. male). The indoor hot tub, on the other hand, was gigantically oversized and took up 2/3 of the bathroom. We were in cabin #3, not sure what the situation was in the others, but worth asking.

Dave Orr

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank daveandjohnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As usual, your superb location, attention to detail and unsurpassed costomer service are what keep us coming back year after year! Once again we enjoyed our stay immensely and were very grateful for the constant care that everyone at Larinda's gives to the property and clients. Your personal touch and attention to our family is heartfelt and much appreciated. We highly recommend Larinda's Landing, having stayed there six summers in a row! Looking forward to seeing you all next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Larinda's in June 2013, for an incredible weekend in the Crow's Nest at the Landing. The room was great, superbly decorated in a country style, with a romantic upper storey bedroom. The view from the picture-windows looked over the bay and the hillside, catching the sunset. The bed was so nice, the sheets were incredibly smooth and soft, I could barely get outta bed! The room had a firepit outside that we used for an evening fire night. We had all our privacy, and the staff looked after the room when we were out exploring the area. It was a great weekend, and staying at Larinda's Landing was the key piece of the pie!!

Room Tip: I really liked the Crow's Nest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepInya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a great visit at Larinda's Landing with adult family members for 2 nights. The cottage was immaculate, the kitchen well stocked, and the furnishings of top quality. Although we did not swim at the beach, next time we will play in the sand and then cool off in the surf. We appreciated the attention to every detail and recommend that you consider staying here as well. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Larinda's Landing July 26th-Aug.2/13. From the moment we arrived, we were very impressed! Everything looked as it did on the website. The cottage was very clean and pleasantly decorated. Everything we needed was provided to us. There were even toys, books and games in the cottage for our children to use, which saved us from having to bring a lot of our own on the plane. We have a 10 month old and they made sure that we had a highchair and playpen to use. If there was anything missing (which wasn't much) were just had to ask and it was provided promptly. Management was very friendly and offered us a lot of ideas on things to do in the area. The kids loved having the ocean right outside our door and there were even beach toys for them to use...they really did think of everything! The location was excellent! Just a short drive from the airport and grocery stores. Also very close to Peggy's Cove and our favourite destination Lunenburg. We will definitely be back again in the future!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Dodders Dwelling" two bedroom cottage. We have a three year old and 10 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from having spent a wonderful week in the Crow's Nest at Larinda's Landing. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the accommodations were as good as, in fact better, than advertised/reviewed.

Our place, which gave us a view on to the water and the sound of its waves, was quaintly appointed and stocked with everything that we might need.

Our few asks were addressed immediately by Wouter who was very responsive and keen to ensure that we were happy.

It is ideally located -- just 40 minutes from the airport, minutes to a large grocery store, bike path and beaches. It is also close to the super quaint towns of Hubbard, Chester, Mahone Bay, Peggy's Cove, Mahone Bay, etc.

All in all, it was just the relaxing vacation that we were looking for.

We will be sure to refer Larinda's landing to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cath514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boutiliers Point
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 7532 St Margarets Bay Rd, Boutiliers Point, Nova Scotia B3Z 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Boutiliers Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Boutiliers Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages in Nova Scotia, has seven (7) gorgeous, well-appointed cottages located only 30 minutes outside the city of Halifax. Situated on the famous lighthouse route and beautiful St. Margaret`s Bay, right on the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Each and every cottage is sure to delight you with the lovely coastal style furnishings, spectacular oceanfront and seaside views, full size, well equipped kitchens, propane fireplaces and/or 2 person jacuzzis. If you're looking for an amazing Nova Scotia oceanfront vacation, with exceptional comfort, a touch of luxury, stunning beauty and incredible convenience, Larinda's Landing has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing