We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wetlands Country House and Sheds
Ranked #2 of 10 Wakkerstroom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is really a great place to stay. The hosts are very friendly and go the extra mile to make every visitor feel welcome and special. The rooms are beautiful and you have everything you need. The fireplace in the room is really special. Lot of small things that make it a memorable stay. Sherry at the fireplace, candles in the rooms/ bathroom/ chocolats/ fresh milk in the fridge etc. The breakfast was also very good.
The area is beautiful and tranquil. Definitely the place to unwind and relax. Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night. I would love to go back for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorindaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was definitely one of our most memorable stays in South Africa. Jill is an excellent host (one of the best we've ever experienced) and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and special.

It was my husband's birthday as well as my friend's birthday and Jill made sure that they were celebrated with flowers, bubbly, nougat and a welcome message at the front door. (I actually forgot to say it's my friend's birthday beforehand so the bubbly and everything was ready in our room for my husband, but when Jill found out it is my friend's birthday as well she quickly organised bubbly, flowers and nougat to be taken to the other couples room too, just superb!!)

The views are incredible, we stayed in room 1 & 2 with views over the dam. It is quiet and relaxing with bird songs in the trees.

Stunning rooms with everything you may need, electric blankets ect ect. You can just relax here. Jill is great to chat with and we enjoyed her great humor. I emailed her a thousand times with questions beforehand and she always responded wonderfully with a joke or two which made me laugh every time:) Also met the owners, who is very friendly and the man showed us the self catering units for next time and also told us some interesting stories about Wakkerstroom. Amazing, warm people!

Jill also gave nice tips on where to go for lunch & dinner and made our dinner reservations for us, even telling the restaurant about the birthdays, so when we arrived at restaurant they said happy birthday to them! The Bistro's food is amazing and the is chef very friendly, coming to the table to chat and hear if the food is to our liking, and the food really was amazing. The service was also top class! The Garrets apple crumble is beyond delicious!

We can't wait to go back and stay for longer!!

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 in the guesthouse with views over the dam (Room 1 has a fireplace and room 2 a heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeleenvanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I took a group of birdwatchers to stay here last month for 2 nights, 14 people in total spread between all the accommodations. Not only were all of the rooms were of the highest standard (we stayed in the cottage) but the breakfasts were superb and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, they even arranged for our vans to be cleaned inside by one of the staff! I would strongly recommend that anyone staying in Wakkerstroom stays here, it is simply the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

5 Friends chose Wetlands as a base to explore the roads of Mpumalanga. We initially booked 2 sheds but ended up being upgraded to the cottage, which featured a well-appointed kitchen.

Both bedrooms have both a shower and a bath, with an additional guest toilet. Our 5th member stayed in one of the rooms. The two rooms in the cottage had an amazing view of the spillover of the dam. Sitting in the sunroom, you could hear and occasionally glimpse many species of birds while relaxing.

Overall, the accommodation was excellent and we even had a dish washer in the kitchen, which makes a self-catering break more comfortable.

Usually, we try to explore new accommodation in every place we visit but I think I found my base in Wakkerstroom.

Room Tip: Two couples can easily share the cottage, and even if one or two singles join them the cottage has e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Two of us stayed in the Cottage which in reality is big enough for a couple of small families and likely larger than the houses of many who stay there. There are two well separated bedrooms (one on each side of the living room) each with its own full bathroom with both tub and shower. The living room and kitchen are fairly expansive and very well equipped and the is an adjoining enclosed sun room. If you happen to be a birder there are quite a few species to be seen from the grounds. Very serene surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterginsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed three times at Wetlands Country House and have enjoyed wonderful hospitality each time. This last time we stayed in room 3 overlooking the dam and enjoyed superb views of birds coming in to roost in the evening. On previous occasions we have stayed in the sheds which are very well equipped for self catering. All are clean and comfortable.
Phil and Rita do their utmost to ensure their guests have the best possible stay. The breakfasts are excellent and advice is given on where to eat. Wakkerstroom is a friendly little place. The area is good for bird watching and Rita is able to book a guide if needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wetlands Country House is beautiful - the accomodation is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are well equipped, and the breakfast buffet is wonderful. The customer service is outstanding as well. This is the ideal place to go bird watching or just for a nice break. Wetlands elevates bed and breakfast to a whole new level. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakkerstroom hotels
2.1 mi away
Forellenhof Guest Farm
Forellenhof Guest Farm
#1 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wakkerstroom Country Inn
Wakkerstroom Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
DeKotzenhof
DeKotzenhof
#4 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Toad Hall Guest House
Toad Hall Guest House
#6 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wetlands Country House and Sheds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetlands Country House and Sheds

Address: 83 Van Riebeeck Street, Wakkerstroom 2480, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Wakkerstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakkerstroom
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 hours from Johannesburg, Wetlands Country House and Sheds is an ideal stopover where one can enjoy amazing country scenery. The bed and breakfast offers luxurious accommodation and a hearty breakfast in the mornings. Wakkerstroom is one of the birding hot spots in South Africa with a large natural wetland, boasting an abundance of bird life - both rare species and local species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wetlands Country House and Sheds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing