We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Breakfast”

Montana's Cookhouse
Ranked #78 of 373 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Breakfast”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We headed out for breakfast, only to find our favorite spot very busy. Just across the parking lot was Montana's. It wasn't busy at 11 am so we gave it a try. The person greeting us said they didn't have a breakfast menu. Luckily the chef was standing nearby and said " you want breakfast, I'll cook you breakfast... anything you'd like!" With a couple of delicious omelets under our belts, along with all the trimmings and good conversation, we were on our way !

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CavendishPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    24
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Adequate is best I can say”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Been to Montana's several times over the past year. Not sure why I go back since I can't say I've ever had a great meal there. This latest time I thought I would try the half chicken - only problem they were all out of chicken. Tried their turkey sandwich which was good however the fries were the worst I've ever tasted. And to make it worst they were just barely warm. Service was not great - I think the server just wanted the shift to end so she could get outta there! On a previous visit I had their blackened salmon. It was way too salty! The more I think of it, I've probably made my last visit to Montana's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The restaurent is well decorated, very clean and the food does a great job of focusing on ribs and chicken. I personally love the half chicken dinner that comes with corn bread and beans.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Ate at Montannas for the first time last night. Service was o.k. But not great. Food was ok but nothing to rave about. I do recommend going as I will be trying this restaurant again and I will bring our guests from out of town when they come in August.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown PA USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Better if the food were served hot!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rack of baby back ribs is, considering its size, fairly priced. My only complaint was that it was served rather tepid. The ribs were tender and tasty. The restaurant wasn't crowded yet service seemed slow. Avoid the baked beans, which seemed to be flavored with chili powder. Likewise, the cole slaw is rather tasteless.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holyrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Cookhouse also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Montana's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing