We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub in St. John's”
Review of Duke of Duckworth

Duke of Duckworth
Ranked #8 of 373 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best pub in St. John's”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

As much as we wanted to enjoy libations in the same watering hole as the Republic of Doyle people, our friends and St. John's locals strongly recommended this as a must stop.

This is a small space, so if you are intent on a table, get there early, or be prepared to wait at the bar. It's busy for good reason. Our group of 6 all ordered the 2-piece fish and chips, fries with stuffing and gravy. The $13.59 is a bargain for the 2 huge pieces of meaty cod accompanying an overflowing plate of fries. The fish is firm, fresh and sweet, some of the best in Newfoundland.

Draft beers include English standbys as well as Keith's, Rickard's, and local Quidi Vidi. Make sure to try the 1892, a crisp amber, but be prepared for the $7.90 per pint to add up quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    261
    77
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So glad I read Tripadvisor before my trip!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had read positive reviews so I choose to have a scoff of fish and chips. Excellent service and excellent food! I was extremely happy with my meal and so were the folks I went with. I felt I had stepped into a European pub and was enchanted with authentic Newfoundland hospitality.
I will be returning the next time I visit St.John's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
329 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff in a place full of pub charm. I did have. 2 piece fish and chips with stuffing and gravy - and the only mistake I made was ordering 2 pieces. Each Piece was thick and luscious and had to be 8-9 oz. Getting the second piece required. 2nd pint of beer but I persevered. I can not recall eating any fried fish anywhere that tasted as good as this. That meal for $13.00 could not be had a home and if available in that fresh size of fish would be $30+. The fish was lightly fried and not greasy and the batter was light not thick. I would order just fish and a side of salad on my next return.

Helpful?
Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
240 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Average & overpriced fish & chips...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to the Duke for Fish & Chips in October, 2013.
The meal was okay....not the best I've had but certainly okay.
However, I thought it was really overpriced.....2 fish/chips (dressing & gravy) and one beer was over $50. Not worth it at all. There are other places where you can get better fish & chips for cheaper.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italian-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pub in St. John's”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is definitely the place to go. Atmosphere, service, food are all fantastic. We go there every time we are in St. John's and are never disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Duckworth also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Duke of Duckworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing