We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of character and great food !”
Review of Duke of Duckworth

Duke of Duckworth
Ranked #8 of 378 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loads of character and great food !”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited this bar/restaurant due to our love of the CBC show "Republic of Doyle". It did not disappoint. It is very small and cozy with lots of character. The food was excellent; the best western wrap and home fries I have ever had. Others in the group had burgers, which they said were very tasty. The staff were friendly and welcomed us behind the bar to get a good picture to remember our visit by. Will go there again next time we are in St.John's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PABSCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    283
    83
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nicest waiter I have ever met!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The atmosphere is great. It turned out to be a great evening considering I was travelling alone. I felt very welcomed. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaHopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

1st place we ate in St. John's. Recommended by Gary at Sheraton. Too much grease for me but as the saying goes....when in Rome. Cod tips were good. Wait staff was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanaKNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, great ambience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took the family down as my wife had wanted to visit it (stars in Republic Of Doyle or something)?
It was a Monday afternoon, and the restaurant was open. Food was excellent, I had a sausage pie, most had fish and chips (we were 7 all together). Beer was cold and tasty, lots of local options (including QV stuff). My 10 year old son was ok to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toolsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pouch Cove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips in Town”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For years I have been a regular at this place. When smoking was allowed I would come during the day and even now it is smoke free the lunch and afternoons are when I frequent the place. In fact I used to be there so often I would say that my compass had only three points, home, office, the Duke. It is the best place to watch football (as in soccer) and during the Euro Cup and World Cup tournaments the place is blocked. The food is consistently good with the fish and chips being the BEST in a town known for good fish and chips. The staff are friendly and pour the best pint of Guinness on the east coast. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Duckworth also viewed

 

Been to Duke of Duckworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing