We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Sushi

Sun Sushi
Ranked #100 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I must be honest and rate this place an average. The sushi was pretty good, but that was about it.
The atmosphere was alright.
Servers were friendly and helpful, even if they got our order wrong. They at least got it resolved.
All in all, decent meal out, but a little bit of a let down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpaclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    18
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
“Great restaurant :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to Sun Sushi yesterday evening with a few friends and I had a wonderful experience! It was my first time in the restaurant and my second time having sushi. I ordered the california rolls and they were delicious. My friends and I ordered the orange chicken, I found it a bit dry but everyone else in my group had no complaints. I will definitely be dinning here again! The service was great, the price was reasonable, and the atmosphere was nice :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ahynes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gave it a 2nd chance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family & i have been to Sun Sushi several times since it opened. We really enjoyed the taste of the food but there were several negatives:
-service was VERY slow on several occasions.
-food is a bit pricey for the serving sizes
- orders did get mixed up & omitted with 1 server not knowing what the other was doing.
When my son was home on holidays last month we gave it another go & was pleasantly surprised that both the service & food (more veggies in the noodle bowls) had improved. Last evening my son, daughter & I dined there & again had a positive experience with the exception of some confusion between servers as to our orders. The service was much faster & there were lots more veggies in the noodle bowl.
I think this may be an effort put forth by the management there due to competition down the street (Asian Taste) which also offers delicious food @ more reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is delicious! Service is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I only make it to St. John's a few times a year but I always get to Sun Sushi! The food and the service is spot on every time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ajamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.JOHN'S, NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If I go to town, the first thing my brother asks is if we are hitting up "Sun" !! I love going there in the summer and fall, as the colder months tend to get a little chilly inside. rolls are great and not overpowered with heavy sauces.

we started eating the rolls all the time, but have switched to the sashimi and nigri due to the lack of the need for rice and to better taste the flavor of the seafood.

Price is moderate for what you get in a sushi restaurant, cause you pay for rolls you order on the fly as opposed to a cheaper option of premade rolls from the grocery store where selection is at a minimum

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JASON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Sushi also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Sun Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing